2006 SAG Award Winners

Reese Witherspoon, Joaquin Phoenix in Walk the Line
Philip Seymour Hoffman, Catherine Keener in Capote
Sandra Bullock in Crash
Reese Witherspoon and Joaquin Phoenix in Walk the Line (top); Philip Seymour Hoffman, Catherine Keener in Capote; Sandra Bullock in Crash

Among the winners of the 2006 Actor statuettes, the Screen Actors Guild awards, were:

  • Best actress Reese Witherspoon for playing country singer June Carter in the Johnny Cash biopic Walk the Line
  • Best actor Philip Seymour Hoffman in Capote, for playing another real-life character, Truman Capote
  • Best (faux) supporting actress Rachel Weisz for her tragic human-rights fighter in The Constant Gardener (Weisz is actually a lead character in the political drama, and is being recognized as such in Britain)
  • Best supporting actor Paul Giamatti for the box office disappointment Cinderella Man
  • The ethnically conscious melodrama Crash, for its all-star cast, including Matt Dillon, Jennifer Esposito, Don Cheadle, Sandra Bullock, Brendan Fraser, Terrence Howard, Thandie Newton, and Ryan Phillippe

Felicity Huffman, nominated for her outstanding gender-bending performance in Transamerica, lost the award for best actress in a motion picture to Witherspoon but did take home the Actor for best actress in a TV comedy series (Desperate Housewives), while Shirley Temple, the tap-dancing brat of numerous Fox films of the 1930s, won the Life Achievement Award.

Some may say that SAG’s selection of Crash as best cast in a motion picture, a category often — and erroneously — perceived as the guild’s "best picture" equivalent, somehow lessens the chances for Brokeback Mountain to win this year’s best picture Oscar. That is hardly true.

SAG’s best cast award is named so for a reason, and Crash is much more of an ensemble piece — with about fifteen performers supporting one another — than Brokeback Mountain, which basically focuses on the characters played by Heath Ledger and Jake Gyllenhaal. Also, the SAG best cast award has gone to other ensemble pieces, such as Gosford Park, Traffic, The Full Monty, and last year’s Sideways, that eventually failed to win the Academy Award for best picture.


Continue Reading: Andrzej Wajda, Ian McKellen to Receive Honorary Golden Bears

Previous Post: 2006 Sundance Winners

"2006 SAG Award Winners" © 2004-2013 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s). "2006 SAG Award Winners" text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

From around the web:

You can post your comment about "2006 SAG Award Winners" in the space below. Note: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy is imperative. Abusive, trollish, and inflammatory comments and/or remarks will be deleted, and such commenters may be banned.

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

SAG Awards 2009: Angelina Jolie, Brad Pitt, Penélo...
SAG Awards 2009: David Duchovny, James Earl Jones,...
TRON: LEGACY Tops Box Office, YOGI BEAR Second, HO...
Natalie Portman, Reese Witherspoon, Michelle Pfeif...
Watch SAG Awards Online Live-Streaming Red Carpet;...
SAG Awards 2013 Predictions: Will Marion Cotillard...
Nicole Kidman, Naomi Watts Photo; SAG Awards Ratin...