London Film Festival Awards 2009

Tahar Rahim in A Prophet

Star of London for Best Film: Jacques Audiard’s A PROPHET

On behalf of the London Film Festival jury, Anjelica Huston stated: “A masterpiece: Un prohète has the ambition, purity of vision and clarity of purpose to make it an instant classic. With seamless and imaginative story-telling, superb performances and universal themes, Jacques Audiard has made a perfect film.” In A Prophet, Tahar Rahim stars as a prison newcomer who learns how to become that realm’s top dog.

Viggo Mortensen, Kodi Smit-McPhee in The Road

Special mention: John Hillcoat’s THE ROAD

Thomas Turgoose in The Scouting Book for Boys

Best British Newcomer: Jack Thorne, screenwriter of the film THE SCOUTING BOOK FOR BOYS


Sutherland Award for most original and imaginative first feature: Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani for AJAMI

Defamation by Yoav Shamir

Grierson Award for Best Documentary: Yoav Shamir for DEFAMATION

John Hurt

BFI Fellowship: John Hurt John Hurt (Photo by Samir Hussein/Getty Images)

Souleymane Cisse

BFI Fellowship: Souleymane Cissé (Photo by Gareth Cattermole/Getty Images)


International Competition Jury: Anjelica Huston (chair), John Akomfrah, Jarvis Cocker, Mathieu Kassovitz, Charlotte Rampling and Iain Softley

Sutherland Award Jury: Paul Greengrass, Kerry Fox and David Parfitt

Grierson Award Jury: Nick Broomfield, Molly Dineen, Ellen Fleming and Christopher Hird


London Film Festival Site

Continue Reading: THE DEVIL’S CLAIM - Sessue Hayakawa

Previous Post: Federico García Lorca’s Remains to Be Exhumed

"London Film Festival Awards 2009" © 2004-2013 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s). "London Film Festival Awards 2009" text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

From around the web:

You can post your comment about "London Film Festival Awards 2009" in the space below. Note: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy is imperative. Abusive, trollish, and inflammatory comments and/or remarks will be deleted, and such commenters may be banned.

Leave a Comment

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

London 2009: George Clooney
George Clooney, Kevin Spacey, Bill Murray: London ...
Elisabetta Canalis, Damian Lewis, Jon Ronson: Lond...
Viggo Mortensen, Cristian Mungiu: London '09
Anjelica Huston, Charlotte Rampling, Jack Thorne: ...
Yoav Shamir's DEFAMATION Opens in NY/LA
BLACK SWAN Sweeps Austin Film Critics Awards 2010