We're looking for contributors

PGA Awards Winners

PGA Awards 2013 winners

Update: Ben Affleck's Argo wins Theatrical Motion Picture PGA Award. Argo producer Ben Affleck tells Steve Pond "I had totally convinced myself they were going to read another name." Affleck's fellow Argo producers are George Clooney and Grant Heslov.

The Producers Guild of America is currently handing out its PGA Awards in a handful of film and television categories. Contenders for the PGA Award in the Theatrical Feature category include Ben Affleck's Argo, Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty, Benh Zeitlin's Beasts of the Southern Wild, Sam Mendes' Skyfall, Steven Spielberg's Lincoln, Ang Lee's Life of Pi, and David O. Russell's Silver Linings Playbook. [Note: This post will be continually updated, as more PGA Award winners are announced.] [See also: PGA Awards predictions and the possibility of The Weinstein Company threepeating this year.)

Robert De Niro, one of the Oscar-nominated stars of The Weinstein Company's Silver Linings Playbook was one of the presenters of the Milestone Award to Bob and Harvey Weinstein. As quoted by TheWrap's Steve Pond on Twitter, De Niro explained, "When (the Weinsteins) came to me with a movie about mental illness, I thought, which brother do they want me to play?" As for fellow Weinstein admirer Quentin Tarantino, whose Django Unchained was also distributed by TWC and whose Pulp Fiction was distributed by the Weinsteins' Miramax, he let the crowd know that "As far as I'm concerned, [Harvey Weinstein] is the only game in town."

In his acceptance speech, The Only Game in Town called Steven Spielberg's 20th Century Fox-distributed Lincoln a masterpiece, and added: "For everybody whose movie I didn't acquire over the years, I want to tell you it was a lapse of taste."

A little while ago, Best Supporting Actress Academy Award nominee Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables) handed the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to the producing team of Eric Fellner and Tim Bevan.

Fellner and Bevan are (at least partly) responsible for a whole array of movies, including Chris Weitz and Paul Weitz's About a Boy; Joel and Ethan Coen's O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Big Lebowski, and Burn After Reading; Joe Wright's Pride & Prejudice; and PGA Award nominee Tom Hooper's Les Misérables. But why would the two movie producers get a TV award? Answer: The Tudors.

Malik Bendjelloul's Academy Award contender Searching for Sugar Man, about the search for '70s rocker Rodriguez, was the winner of the PGA Award in the Documentary Feature category. (See also: "Searching for Sugar Man Top Awards Season Documentary.)

Among the other winners of the competitive PGA Awards 2013 are Wreck-It Ralph in the Animated Feature category; Homeland in the Television Drama category; American Masters in the Non-Fiction TV category; Modern Family in the Television Comedy category; Game Change in the Longform Television category; and Sesame Street in the Children's programming category.

PGA Awards presenters

PGA Awards 2013 presenters include Marlo Thomas; Chris Tucker; Damian Lewis; Jonah Hill; Julianna Margulies; The Weinstein Company-distributed Silver Linings Playbook's Bradley Cooper, who presented the Stanley Kramer Award to The Weinstein Company-distributed documentary Bully, whose director, Lee Hirsch, thanked Harvey Weinstein for "championing this film and being a mentor to me"; and Jennifer Garner, who handed the David O. Selznick Award to recently announced Star Wars VII director J.J. Abrams.

If you found PGA Awards Winners an informative post, please recommend it to your friends. See share buttons above and on the left.
And consider following Alt Film Guide on Facebook and/or joining the FB group All About Movies.
PGA Awards Winners © 2004-2015 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s). Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Continue Reading: SAG Awards Winner Anne Hathaway Thanks Actress-Mother

Previous Post: Sundance Awards Winners

Click on 'Load Comments' to leave a comment about PGA Awards Winners.

Important: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy and respect are imperative. Abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), and/or trollish/inflammatory comments will be blocked and offenders may be banned.


Tiburon Film Festival 2007 Awards
National Board of Review Awards 2007
National Board of Review Awards 2008
Irish Academy Awards 2009
Los Angeles Film Critics 2009 Winners: THE HURT LOCKER
Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart, Daniel Radcliffe: People's Choice Awards
A PROPHET Beats AVATAR, THE HURT LOCKER: London Film Critics' Awards
Sandra Bullock at the 2010 Razzies
Cory Monteith Photo: Kids Choice Awards
Jafar Panahi / Mohammad Rasoulof National Society of Film Critics Statement
INCEPTION's Wally Pfister Wins ASC Award
ACE Award Winners; Christopher Nolan, Michael Kahn Receive Special Awards
From Gary Oldman, Kirsten Dunst to Sareh Bayat, THE ARTIST: London Film Critics' Non-Hollywood Flavo...
Watch BAFTA Online Red Carpet Here
Alexander Payne/THE DESCENDANTS Wins Scripter Award
Kathryn Bigelow ZERO DARK THIRTY, ARGO: Best Director / Best Screenplay Front-Runners
Geneviève Bujold Returns: Canadian Screen Awards
Tina Fey and Amy Poehler Funny and Daring Enough? Golden Globes Telecast
Karlovy Vary Winners: 'Sherrybaby,' Maggie Gyllenhaal