***We're looking for contributors***

'Lake Tahoe': Ariel Awards

Lake Tahoe by Fernando Eimbcke
Fernando Eimbcke's minimalist comedy Lake Tahoe presents a series of vignettes showing a small-town teenager (Diego Cataño) trying to cope with the death of his father. Lake Tahoe won three Ariels: best film, best director, and best supporting actor (Héctor Herrera). The night's biggest winner, however, was Rodrigo Plá's drama Desierto adentro, set during Mexico's Cristero War, with eight awards including best actor (Mario Zaragoza) and best original screenplay. Box-office hit Arrancame la vida / Tear This Heart Out, Mexico's submission for the 2009 foreign-language film Academy Award, failed to get a best picture nod but managed to collect a total of four trophies, including best adapted screenplay (it was the sole nominee in that category). Another box office success, Rudo y Cursi, starring Gael García Bernal and Diego Luna, failed to win a single Ariel out of its eight nods. Golden Ariel winner Fanny Kauffman was given a posthumous award, as the 84-year-old, Canadian-born, Cuban-raised comedienne died shortly after learning that she would be honored at the ceremony.

2009 Ariel winners: National Auditorium in Mexico City on March 31, 2009

Best Film / Mejor película
Intimidades de Shakespeare y Víctor Hugo
* Lake Tahoe
Los herederos
Voy a explotar

Best Ibero-American Film / Mejor película iberoamericana
* Leonera by Pablo Trapero, Argentina
Tony Manero by Pablo Larraín, Chile
Perro come perro by Carlos Moreno, Colombia

Best First Film / Mejor ópera prima
* Intimidades de Shakespeare y Víctor Hugo by Yulene Olaizola
Siete instantes by Diana Cardozo
Rudo y Cursi by Carlos Cuarón

Best Documentary Feature / Mejor largometraje documental
Siete instantes by Diana Cardozo
* Los herederos by Eugenio Polgovsky
Intimidades de Shakespeare y Víctor Hugo by Yulene Olaizola

Best Direction / Mejor dirección
Eugenio Polgovsky, Los herederos
Gerardo Naranjo, Voy a explotar
* Fernando Eimbcke, Lake Tahoe

Best Actress / Mejor actriz
Ariadna Gil, Sólo quiero caminar
María Deschamps, Voy a explotar
* Irene Azuela, Bajo la sal

Best Actor / Mejor actor
Diego Luna, Rudo y Cursi
* Mario Zaragoza, Desierto adentro
Juan Pablo Hernández, Voy a explotar

Best Supporting Actress / Mejor coactuación femenina
Adriana Paz, Rudo y Cursi
* Eileen Yáñez, Desierto adentro
Daniela Valentine, Lake Tahoe

Best Supporting Actor / Mejor coactuación masculina
Guillermo Francella, Rudo y Cursi
Tenoch Huerta, Nesio
* Héctor Herrera, Lake Tahoe

Best Original Screenplay / Mejor guión original
* Laura Santullo, Rodrigo Plá, Desierto adentro
Gerardo Naranjo, Voy a explotar
Fernando Eimbcke, Paula Markovitch, Lake Tahoe

Best Adapted Screenplay / Mejor guión adaptado
* Roberto Sneider, Ángeles Mastretta, Arráncame la vida

Best Cinematography / Mejor fotografía
Alexis Zabé, Lake Tahoe
* Serguei Saldivar Tanaka, Desierto adentro
Eugenio Polgovsky, Los herederos

Best Editing / Mejor edición
Yulene Olaizola, Intimidades de Shakespeare y Víctor Hugo
* Eugenio Polgovsky, Los herederos
Mariana Rodríguez, Lake Tahoe
Yibrán Asuad Mújica, Voy a explotar

Best Original Score / Mejor música original
* Leonardo Heiblum, Jacobo Lieberman, Desierto adentro
Felipe Pérez Santiago, Rudo y Cursi
Luis Leñero, Nesio

Best Sound / Mejor sonido
* Mario Martínez, Miguel Hernández, Marco Hernández and Antonio Diego, Desierto adentro
Martín Hernández, Jaime Baksht, Santiago Núñez and Alberto Castro, Rudo y Cursi
Cristian Manzutto, Camille Tauss, Los herederos

Best Production Design / Mejor diseño de arte
* Salvador Parra, Rafael Mandujano, Miguel ángel Jiménez and Luisa Guala, Arráncame la vida
Gloria Carrasco, Antonio Plá, Desierto adentro
Eugenio Caballero, Jon Solaun and Bárbara Enríquez, Rudo y Cursi

Best Costume Design / Mejor vestuario
* Gilda Navarro, Mónica Neumaier, Arráncame la vida
Adela Cortázar, Malena de la riva, Desierto adentro
Annaí Ramos, Amanda Cárcamo, Voy a explotar

Best Make-Up / Mejor maquillaje
* Regina Reyes, David Gameros, Arráncame la vida
Jorge Siller, Ruth Bermudo, Desierto adentro
Marisa Amenta, David Gameros, Rudo y Cursi

Best Visual Effects / Mejores efectos visuales
Henrik Fett, Arráncame la vida
* John Reid, Juan Medina and Rita Basulto, Desierto adentro
Max Blásquez, René Castillo, Bajo la sal

Best Special Effects / Mejores efectos especiales
Alejandro Vázquez, Roberto Ortiz, Bajo la sal
Alejandro Vázquez, Sólo quiero caminar
* José Ángel Cordero, Desierto adentro

Best Narrative Short / Mejor cortometraje ficción
* Café paraiso by Alonso Ruiz Palacios
Trabalenguas para una casa vacía by Gabriel Herrera
Roma by Elisa Miller
Reality show by Federico Schmucler

Best Documentary Short / Mejor cortometraje documental
Cine a mano by Agustín Tapia
Susurros de luz by Alberto Reséndiz
* Su mercé by Isabel Muñoz

Best Animated Short / Mejor cortometraje animación
Fuera de control by Sofía Carrillo
Niño de mis ojos by Guadalupe Sánchez Sosa
* Jacinta by Karla Castañeda

Golden Ariel / Ariel de Oro
Famie Kauffman “Vitola"
Alejandro Parodi

If you liked the article 'Lake Tahoe': Ariel Awards, please recommend it to your friends. See floating share buttons on the left.
Follow Alt Film Guide on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.
'Lake Tahoe': Ariel Awards © 2004-2016 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Continue Reading: London Lesbian & Gay Film Festival 2009: BANDAGED, 57000 KM BETWEEN US

Previous Post: Maurice Jarre

Leave a comment about ''Lake Tahoe': Ariel Awards'

Important: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy and respect are imperative. Rude, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), and/or trollish/inflammatory comments will be blocked and offenders may be banned.

Most recent comments listed first.

1 Comment to 'Lake Tahoe': Ariel Awards

  1. Ric

    I prefer Eimbcke's Duck Season. Lake Taho was a little too slow for my taste.