'Black Swan,' 'Inception': Art Directors Guild Awards' Winners

Black Swan Art Directors Guild winner Natalie PortmanArt Directors Guild winner 'Black Swan,' with Natalie Portman.

'Inception,' 'Black Swan' among Art Directors Guild winners

Earlier tonight, Feb. 5, the Art Directors Guild (ADG) announced the winners of its 2011 Production Design Awards in nine categories of film, television, commercials, and music videos. The awards ceremony took place at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

In the Film categories, the winners were:

See further below a partial list of 2011 Art Directors Guild Award winners and nominees.

David Lynch, Mariette Hartley among ADG Award presenters

Art Directors Guild Chairman Thomas A. Walsh presided over the awards ceremony, while comedienne Paula Poundstone served as host for the second consecutive year. Presenters included David Lynch, Mariette Hartley, Kristin Bauer, and Michael Weatherly.

In addition to the competitive awards, the ADG Lifetime Achievement Award was handed to Production Designer Patricia Norris, a frequent David Lynch collaborator (Blue Velvet, Lost Highway, Wild at Heart). Syd Dutton and Bill Taylor received the Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery.

Also at the ceremony, the Art Directors Guild inducted three additional Production Designers into its Hall of Fame:

  • Alexander Golitzen (Madame X, Airport).
  • Albert Heschong (the TV movies Something Evil, Calamity Jane).
  • Eugène Lourié (Grand Illusion, La Bête Humaine).

Art Directors Guild Awards recognition goes to the Production Designer, Art Director, and Assistant Art Director of each winning project.

Inception Art Directors GuildArt Directors Guild Award winner 'Inception.'

2011 Art Directors Guild Awards: Winners and nominees


Full list of films. Only production designers listed below.

Contemporary Film
Judy Becker – The Fighter.
Donald Graham Burt – The Social Network.
* Thérèse DePrez – Black Swan.
Suttirat Larlarb – 127 Hours.
Sharon Seymour – The Town.

Fantasy Film
Stuart Craig – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1.
* Guy Hendrix Dyas – Inception.
Darren Gilford – TRON: Legacy.
Barry Robison – The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.
Robert Stromberg – Alice in Wonderland.

Period Film
Dante Ferretti – Shutter Island.
Jess Gonchor – True Grit.
Geoffrey Kirkland – Get Low.
Arthur Max – Robin Hood.
* Eve Stewart – The King's Speech.



Partial list of TV productions. Only production designers listed below.

One-Hour Single-Camera Series
Carlos Barbosa – 24 (for the episode “4:00 P.M. - 5:00 P.M.”).
* Dan Bishop – Mad Men (for the episode “Public Relations”).
Tom Conroy – The Tudors (for the episode “#407”).
Mark Hutman – Glee (for the episode “Britney/Brittany”).
Suzuki Ingerslev – True Blood (for the episode “Trouble”).

Miniseries or Television Movie
Marcia Hinds – Revenge of the Bridesmaids.
* Robb Wilson King – Secrets in the Walls.

Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award
Syd Dutton.
Bill Taylor.

Lifetime Achievement Award
Patricia Norris.

Hall of Fame
Alexander Golitzen.
Albert Heschong.
Eugène Lourié.


Art Directors Guild website.

Natalie Portman Black Swan “art” photo: Niko Tavernise / Fox Searchlight.

Art Directors Guild Award winner Inception image: Warner Bros.

'Black Swan,' 'Inception': Art Directors Guild Awards' Winners © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about ''Black Swan,' 'Inception': Art Directors Guild Awards' Winners'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.