***We're looking for contributors***


'Children of Men' Tops Cinematography Award

Mexican-born Emmanuel Lubezki, one of filmdom's top cinematographers, became the third non-American in a row to win the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) feature-film award for his work in the Anglo-American production Children of Men.

According to Variety, Lubezki's win “further establish[es] the internationalization of a body that started doling out its own kudos partly in response to the large number of overseas cinematographers, many British, who were winning Oscars.”

The trade magazine also names Mexico “as a hotbed of cinematic talent.” Both Rodrigo Prieto (whose work on Babel has been highly praised) and Guillermo Navarro (who's up for an Academy Award for El Laberinto del fauno / Pan's Labyrinth) also hail from Mexico.

The 21st American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) award feature-film nominations were announced on January 11, 2007.

The 21st ASC award winners were announced at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles on February 18, 2007.

("*" denotes the winner in each category)



Feature Films
* Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC, (Children of Men)
Dick Pope, BSC (The Illusionist)
Robert Richardson, ASC (The Good Shepherd)
Dean Semler, ASC, ACS (Apocalypto)
Vilmos Zsigmond, ASC (The Black Dahlia)

Motion Picture, Miniseries or Pilot Made for Television
Thomas A. Del Ruth, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip (Pilot)
Adam Kane, Heroes (Pilot)
Walt Lloyd, The Librarian, "Return to King Solomon's Mines"
Bill Roe, Day Break (Pilot)
* John Stokes, Nightmares and Dreamscapes: From the Stories of Stephen King, "Umney's Last Case"

Regular Television Series (one episode)
Eagle Egilsson, CSI: Miami, "Darkroom"
Nathan Hope, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, "Killer"
* David Moxness, Smallville, "Arrow"
Gale Tattersall, House, M.D., "Meaning"
Bill Roe, Day Break, "What If They Find Him?"

ASC Board of Governors Award: Ron Howard

ASC International Achievement Award: Michael Ballhaus

ASC Presidents Award: Gerald Hirschfeld

ASC Lifetime Achievement Award: Allen Daviau

ASC Television Career Achievement Award: Donald M. Morgan

John Alonzo Student Heritage Award: Brian Melton and Lyle Vincent

If you liked the article 'Children of Men' Tops Cinematography Award, please recommend it to your friends and/or follow Alt Film Guide on social media. See share/follow buttons above.
'Children of Men' Tops Cinematography Award © 2004–2017 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about ''Children of Men' Tops Cinematography Award'

UPDATED COMMENTING RULES: Our articles and/or other people's comments infuriate you?

Well, here's the good news: It's perfectly okay to disagree with our own and/or other commenters' views and opinions.

But ... *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Add something reasonable & coherent to the discussion.

Spammy, abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain demented comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Also, bear in mind that links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.