***We're looking for contributors***


Cecil B. DeMille Award Winners: George Clooney in & Only 2 Women This Century

Cecil B. DeMille Award winners George ClooneyCecil B. DeMille Award 2015 winner George Clooney in 'The Monuments Men' with Matt Damon.

Cecil B. DeMille Award: George Clooney next recipient

From 1980 onwards, only two individuals chiefly associated with their work behind the camera, whether literally or metaphorically, have been honored with the Hollywood Foreign Press Association's lifetime achievement Cecil B. DeMille Award: Steven Spielberg in 2009 and Martin Scorsese in 2010.

Between 1953, the year of the award's inception, and 1980, there were 11 such individuals – most of them honored during the 1950s. The recipients ranged from studio heads Walt Disney and Jack Warner to directors-producers Alfred Hitchcock and Mervyn LeRoy, in addition to Cecil B. DeMille himself back at the 1953 ceremony.

George Clooney, who has directed a handful of movies – e.g., Good Night, and Good Luck. (2005), for which he was nominated for a Best Director Academy Award, and last year's The Monuments Man – but who is best known for his work in front of the camera, will be handed the Cecil B. DeMille Award at the 2015 Golden Globes ceremony later this evening, Jan. 11.*

Few women among Cecil B. DeMille Award recipients

Also worth noting, out of a total of 62 Cecil B. DeMille Award recipients to date, a mere 13 winners have been women – all of them actresses, including two actresses-directors. They are the following:

In that regard, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association has quite a bit in common with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Check out this four-part article about how “Honorary Oscars have bypassed women.”

* Last year's winner, multitasker Woody Allen, failed to show up to pick up his trophy. In his stead, Diane Keaton accepted the award and sang a little ditty in honor of her Annie Hall and Manhattan co-star and director. (Scroll down to check out the full list of Cecil B. DeMille Award winners.)

George Clooney movies

Besides Good Night and Good Luck. and The Monuments Men, both of which George Clooney directed and acted in, the former E.R. television series star, who will be turning 54 next May 6, has appeared in more than 40 feature films.

These range from Grizzly II: The Concert (1987), Return of the Killer Tomatoes! (1988), and The Harvest (1992), in which Clooney plays a lip-syncing transvestite, to Stephen Gaghan's 2005 political drama Syriana, which earned him that year's Best Supporting Actor Oscar; Jason Reitman's Up in the Air (2009), opposite Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick; Alexander Payne's The Descendants (2011), with Shailene Woodley; and Alfonso Cuarón's blockbuster Gravity (2013), co-starring Sandra Bullock.

Here are a few more George Clooney movies:

  • Joel Schumacher's lambasted Batman & Robin (1997), with Chris O'Donnell, Uma Thurman, Arnold Schwarzenegger, and Alicia Silverstone.
  • Terrence Malick's Best Picture Oscar nominee The Thin Red Line (1998), with Jim Caviezel and Sean Penn.
  • David O. Russell's Three Kings (1999), with Mark Wahlberg and Ice Cube.
  • Joel and Ethan Coen's O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000), with John Turturro and Holly Hunter.
  • Wolfgang Petersen's The Perfect Storm (2000), with Mark Wahlberg and Diane Lane.
  • Steven Soderbergh's Ocean's Eleven (2001), with Matt Damon, Brad Pitt, and Julia Roberts.
  • Tony Gilroy's Michael Clayton (2007), with Tom Wilkinson and Tilda Swinton.
  • The Ides of March (2011), a political drama also directed by Clooney, and featuring Ryan Gosling and Philip Seymour Hoffman.

Upcoming George Clooney movies include:

  • Jodie Foster's thriller Money Monster, with Julia Roberts and Jack O'Connell.
  • Brad Bird's sci-fier Tomorrowland, with Britt Robertson, Kathryn Hahn, and Judy Greer.
  • Joel and Ethan Coen's ensemble comedy Hail, Caesar!, also featuring Channing Tatum, Ralph Fiennes, Scarlett Johansson, Tilda Swinton, Jonah Hill, Frances McDormand, and Christopher Lambert.
Judy Garland Cecil B. DeMille Award recipient one of few womenJudy Garland: One of the few female Cecil B. DeMille Award recipients.

Golden Globes' Cecil B. DeMille Award winners

Below is the full list of Cecil B. DeMille Award recipients to date, in chronological order, beginning with the 1953 ceremony.

Note: No Cecil B. DeMille Award was handed out at the 1976 and the 2008 Golden Globes ceremonies.

  1. Cecil B. DeMille.
  2. Walt Disney.
  3. Darryl F. Zanuck.
  4. Jean Hersholt.
  5. Jack Warner.
  6. Mervyn LeRoy.
  7. Buddy Adler.
  8. Maurice Chevalier.
  9. Bing Crosby.
  10. Fred Astaire.
  11. Judy Garland.
  12. Bob Hope.
  13. Joseph E. Levine.
  14. James Stewart.
  15. John Wayne.
  16. Charlton Heston.
  17. Kirk Douglas.
  18. Gregory Peck.
  19. Joan Crawford.
  20. Frank Sinatra.
  21. Alfred Hitchcock.
  22. Samuel Goldwyn.
  23. Bette Davis.
  24. Hal B. Wallis.
  25. No Cecil B. DeMille Award handed out.
  26. Walter Mirisch.
  27. Red Skelton.
  28. Lucille Ball.
  29. Henry Fonda.
  30. Gene Kelly.
  31. Sidney Poitier.
  32. Laurence Olivier.
  33. Paul Newman.
  34. Elizabeth Taylor.
  35. Barbara Stanwyck.
  36. Anthony Quinn.
  37. Clint Eastwood.
  38. Doris Day.
  39. Audrey Hepburn.
  40. Jack Lemmon.
  41. Robert Mitchum.
  42. Lauren Bacall.
  43. Robert Redford.
  44. Sophia Loren.
  45. Sean Connery.
  46. Dustin Hoffman.
  47. Shirley MacLaine.
  48. Jack Nicholson.
  49. Barbra Streisand.
  50. Al Pacino.
  51. Harrison Ford.
  52. Gene Hackman.
  53. Robin Williams.
  54. Anthony Hopkins.
  55. Warren Beatty.
  56. No Cecil B. DeMille Award handed out – and no Golden Globes ceremony – due to the Writers Guild of America strike.
  57. Steven Spielberg.
  58. Martin Scorsese.
  59. Robert De Niro.
  60. Morgan Freeman.
  61. Jodie Foster.
  62. Woody Allen.
  63. George Clooney.


Hollywood Foreign Press Association website.

Image of Cecil B. DeMille Award recipient George Clooney in The Monuments Men with Matt Damon: Columbia Pictures / Fox 2000.

Image of Cecil B. DeMille Award recipient Judy Garland: Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer publicity shot.

If you liked the article Cecil B. DeMille Award Winners: George Clooney in & Only 2 Women This Century, please recommend it to your friends and/or follow Alt Film Guide on social media. See share/follow buttons above.
Cecil B. DeMille Award Winners: George Clooney in & Only 2 Women This Century © 2004–2017 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Cecil B. DeMille Award Winners: George Clooney in & Only 2 Women This Century'

UPDATED COMMENTING RULES: Our articles and/or other people's comments infuriate you?

Well, here's the good news: It's perfectly okay to disagree with our own and/or other commenters' views and opinions.

But ... *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Add something reasonable & coherent to the discussion.

Spammy, abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain demented comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Also, bear in mind that links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.