***We're looking for contributors***

'The Social Network' Tops, 'The King's Speech' Not: More Critics Awards

Rooney Mara, Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network
Rooney Mara, Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

David Fincher's The Social Network, about the infighting behind the creation of Facebook, won its fourth film critics' award today, courtesy of the Indiana Film Journalists Association (IFJA). (Indiana film critics' 2010 winners.) Aaron Sorkin's screenplay was also singled out.

The mind-bending Inception also won two awards in Indiana: Best Director for Christopher Nolan and the Original Vision Award, “meant to recognize a film that is especially innovative or original.” Starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Marion Cotillard, Ellen Page, Michael Caine, and several other big names, Inception was both a critical and a box office hit.

Natalie Portman was named Best Actress for Darren Aronofsky's psychological thriller Black Swan, while James Franco won Best Actor for Danny Boyle's 127 Hours. Totally shut out were The King's Speech (perhaps it wasn't screened for the Indiana critics?) and The Kids Are All Right.

The Best Supporting Actress was a surprise: Hailee Steinfeld, in the old Kim Darby role in Joel and Ethan Coen's True Grit. More expected was Christian Bale's victory as Best Supporting Actor for his performance in David O. Russell's The Fighter.

A couple of more surprises out of Indiana: Dean DeBlois and Chris Sanders' How to Train Your Dragon was voted Best Animated Film – whereas Toy Story 3 has come out victorious elsewhere – while Samuel Maoz's Israeli war drama Lebanon, winner of the Golden Lion at the 2009 Venice Film Festival, was the Best Foreign Language Film.

Banksy's Exit Through the Gift Shop, the runner-up earlier today in Los Angeles, was chosen as Best Documentary.

Additionally, screenwriter Andie Redwine was honored with The Hoosier Award for her work on Storme Wood's Paradise Recovered, described as “a film about a woman from a cloistered religious sect forced to view her community from a new perspective, which was partially shot in southern Indiana.” The Hoosier Award “recognizes a significant cinematic contribution by a person or persons with Indiana roots.”

Of interest: To be eligible for the IFJA's awards, “a film must have played theatrically in Indiana during the 2010 calendar year, screened to state critics in advance of a 2011 general release date, or play in a Hoosier State film festival such as Indianapolis International Film Festival or Heartland Film Festival.”

The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009. It's currently composed of 11 members.

Photo: The Social Network (Merrick Morton / Sony Pictures)

Best Film of the Year: The Social Network

Runner-up: Inception

Other Finalists: 127 Hours, Black Swan, Exit Through the Gift Shop, The Fighter, Never Let Me Go, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, True Grit, Winter's Bone

Best Animated Film: How to Train Your Dragon

Runner-up: Toy Story 3

Best Foreign Language Film: Lebanon

Runner-up: Biutiful

Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop

Runner-up: The Tillman Story

Best Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Runner-up: Christopher Nolan, Inception

Best Director: Christopher Nolan, Inception

Runner-up: Debra Granik, Winter's Bone

Best Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Runner-up: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter's Bone

Best Supporting Actress: Hailee Steinfeld, True Grit

Runner-up: Melissa Leo, The Fighter

Best Actor: James Franco, 127 Hours

Runner-up: Jesse Eisenberg, The Social Network

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter

Runner-up: John Hawkes, Winter's Bone

Original Vision Award: Inception

Runner-up: 127 Hours

The Hoosier Award: Andie Redwine, writer/producer of Paradise Recovered

Photo:127 Hours (Chuck Zlotnick / Fox Searchlight)

If you liked the article 'The Social Network' Tops, 'The King's Speech' Not: More Critics Awards, please recommend it to your friends. See floating share buttons on the left.
Follow Alt Film Guide on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.

Continue Reading: Clint Eastwood Drama One of Worst of the Year? + Colin Firth & Natalie Portman Top More Critics Awards

Previous Post: 'Carlos' Surprises: Los Angeles Film Critics Winners

'The Social Network' Tops, 'The King's Speech' Not: More Critics Awards © 2004–2016 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about ''The Social Network' Tops, 'The King's Speech' Not: More Critics Awards'

Important: It's perfectly fine to disagree with our own and/or other commenters' views and opinions, but thoughtfulness and at least a modicum of sanity are imperative.

In other words: Spammy, rude/abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain demented comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Additionally, bear in mind that a) harassment will not be tolerated b) links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.