Ed Catmull Getting Academy's Special Award + Bollywood-ish Hit Wins Best Cinematography

Ed CatmullEd Catmull, co-founder of Pixar Animation Studios, and president of Walt Disney and Pixar Animation Studios, has been chosen by the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences to receive the Gordon E. Sawyer Award “for his lifetime of technical contributions and leadership in the field of computer graphics for the motion picture industry.”

The award, an Oscar statuette, will be handed to Catmull at the Scientific and Technical Awards Presentations on Saturday, February 7, 2009, at the Beverly Wilshire hotel in Beverly Hills. Bits from the Scientific and Technical Awards presentation will be shown at the Oscar ceremony to be held on February 22 at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center.

The following information about Ed Catmull is from the Academy's press release:

Catmull founded three of the leading centers of computer graphics research - the computer graphics laboratory at the New York Institute of Technology, the computer division of Lucasfilm Ltd., and Pixar Animation Studios.

In 2000 Catmull, Rob Cook and Loren Carpenter received an Academy Award of Merit (an Oscar statuette) for their significant advancements to the field of motion picture rendering as exemplified in Pixar's “RenderMan.” The software, which produces images used in motion pictures from 3D computer descriptions of shape and appearance, has been used in 45 of the last 50 films nominated for an Academy Award in the Visual Effects category.

Catmull had previously received two Scientific and Engineering Awards: in 1992 as part of a team for the development of “RenderMan” software, and in 1995 as part of a team responsible for pioneering inventions in Digital Image Compositing. He also shared a Technical Achievement Award in 2005.

While at Lucasfilm Ltd., Catmull managed development in the areas of computer graphics, video editing, video games and digital audio.

Catmull earned Bachelor of Science degrees in computer science and physics and a Ph.D.in computer science from the University of Utah. In 2005 the University of Utah presented him with a honorary doctoral degree in engineering.

Established in 1981, the Sawyer Award is presented to “an individual in the motion picture industry whose technological contributions have brought credit to the industry.” Catmull will be the 22nd recipient of the award.

ASC Winners and nominees

2009 ASC award nominees: January 7, 2009.

2009 ASC award winners: Hyatt Regency Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles on February 15, 2009.

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC (Revolutionary Road and The Reader)
* Anthony Dod Mantle, BSC (Slumdog Millionaire)
Chris Menges, ASC, BSC (The Reader)
Claudio Miranda (The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)
Wally Pfister, ASC (The Dark Knight)

Oliver Bokelberg, BVK for “Breakdown,” the pilot of My Own Worst Enemy (NBC)
Michael Bonvillain, ASC for the Fringe pilot (FOX)
Jon Joffin for “Night One” of The Andromeda Strain (A&E)
Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for the pilot of Life on Mars (ABC)
* David Stockon for “Resurrection,” the pilot of Eleventh Hour (CBS)

* Nelson Cragg for CSI: Crime Scene Investigation / “For Gedda” (CBS)
Ousama Rawi, CSC, BSC for The Tudors / “Episode 21” (Showtime)
Stephen Reizes, CSC for Flashpoint / “Who's George?” (CBS)
Gale Tattersall for House MD / “House's Head” (FOX)
Glen Winter, CSC for Smallville/ “Fracture” (CW)

ASC Board of Governors Award: Christopher Nolan

ASC International Achievement Award: Donald McAlpine

ASC Career Achievement in Television Award: Robert F “Bobby” Liu

ASC Presidents Award: Isidore Mankofsky

ASC Lifetime Achievement Award: Jack Green

Heritage Award: Burton “Bud” Stone

American Society of Cinematographers website

Academy Awards' visual effects semi-finalists

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the seven semi-finalists in the 2009 Oscar's Visual Effects category. They are, in alphabetical order:

Nicole Kidman in Australia

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

The Dark Knight by Christopher Nolan
The Dark Knight

Hellboy II: The Golden Army Guillermo del Toro
Hellboy II: The Golden Army

Robert Downey Jr in Iron Man
Iron Man

Brendan Fraser in Journey to the Center of the Earth
Journey to the Center of the Earth

Brendan Fraser in The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor
The Mummy: Tomb of the Dragon Emperor

Among those missing in action are Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, The Incredible Hulk, and The Day the Earth Stood Still.

As per the Academy's release, on Thursday, Jan. 15, all members of the Academy's Visual Effects Branch will be invited to view 15-minute excerpts from each of the seven shortlisted films. Following the screenings, members will pick three films for final Oscar consideration.

The 2009 Academy Award nominations will be announced on Thursday, January 22, 2009, at 5:30 a.m. Pacific Time at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The 2009 Academy Awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, Feb. 22, 2009, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center. In the US, the Oscarcast will be televised live by ABC.

Rotterdam Film Festival line-up

The 2009 Rotterdam International Film Festival runs Jan. 21-Feb. 1, 2009.

At West of Pluto (A louest de Pluton), Henri Bernadet & Myriam Verreault, Canada

Be Calm and Count to Seven (Aram bash va ta haft beshmar), Ramtin Lavafipour, Iran

Blind Pig Who Wants to Fly (Babi buta yang ingin terbang), Edwin, Indonesia

Breathless (Ddongpari), Yang Ik-June, South Korea

Dark Harbour (Futoko), Naito Takatsugu, Japan

Dogging: A Love StorySimon Ellis, U.K.

Floating in Memory (Liu li), Peng Tao, China

The Hungry GhostsMichael Imperioli, U.S.

No puedo vivir sin tiLeon Dai, Taiwan

SchottentorCaspar Pfaundler, Austria

Sois sage (Be Good), Juliette Garcias, France/ Denmark

The Strength of WaterArmagan Ballantyne, New Zealand/ Germany

Turistas (Tourists), Alicia Scherson, Chile

Wrong Rosary (Uzak ihtimal), Mahmut Fazil Coskun, Turkey

Ed Catmull Getting Academy's Special Award + Bollywood-ish Hit Wins Best Cinematography © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Ed Catmull Getting Academy's Special Award + Bollywood-ish Hit Wins Best Cinematography'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.