***We're looking for contributors***

George Clooney, Christoph Waltz Win Newly Formed Critics Awards

The Indiana Film Journalists Association – we hadn't heard of this group before – have also announced their list of winners. (Four of the Association's nine members can be found at The Film Yap. I hadn't heard about them because this is their first year giving out awards.)

Will it influence the Oscars? Not really, but it's interesting to see that Hoosier critics have gone their own way by choosing Jason Reitman's Up in the Air as the best picture of the year, Louie Psihoyos' The Cove as best documentary, George Clooney as best actor for Up in the Air, Carey Mulligan as best actress for An Education. Most shocking of all was the choice of Mo'Nique as best supporting actress for Precious and Christoph Waltz as best supporting actor for Inglourious Basterds. No, scratch all that.

All joking aside, the Indiana Film Journalists have made one curious choice (and that's better than nothing): Spike Jonze as best director for Where the Wild Things Are, which also won the IFJA's Original Vision Award. True, this big-budget fantasy film is hardly what you'd call "unusual" in terms of popularity, but it's certainly something new when it comes to year-end critics' choices that have tended to honor the same five people and the same five films over and over again. Just like in years past.

Via Ryan Adams at Awards Daily.

Best Film
Up in the Air
Runner-up: Fantastic Mr. Fox

Best Foreign Language Film
Sin Nombre
Runner-up: Welcome

Best Documentary
The Cove
Runner-up: Anvil! The Story of Anvil

Best Animated Film
Fantastic Mr. Fox
Runner-up: Up

Best Director
Spike Jonze, Where the Wild Things Are
Runner-up: Wes Anderson, Fantastic Mr. Fox

Best Actor
George Clooney, Up in the Air
Runner-up: Jeremy Renner, The Hurt Locker

Best Actress
Carey Mulligan, An Education
Runner-up: Meryl Streep, Julie & Julia

Best Supporting Actress
Mo'Nique, Precious: Based on the Novel 'Push' by Sapphire
Runner-up: Vera Farmiga, Up in the Air

Best Supporting Actor
Christoph Waltz, Inglourious Basterds
Runner-up: Stanley Tucci, The Lovely Bones and Julie & Julia

Best Screenplay
Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner, Up in the Air
Runner-up: Spike Jonze and Dave Eggers, Where the Wild Things Are

Original Vision Award
Where the Wild Things Are
Runner-up: District 9


Indiana Film Journalists Association website.

If you liked the article George Clooney, Christoph Waltz Win Newly Formed Critics Awards, please recommend it to your friends. See floating share buttons on the left.
Follow Alt Film Guide on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.
George Clooney, Christoph Waltz Win Newly Formed Critics Awards © 2004-2016 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Continue Reading: Los Angeles Film Critics Winner THE BEACHES OF AGNÈS Returns to LA

Previous Post: Meryl Streep & George Clooney Top New York Film Critics

Leave a comment about 'George Clooney, Christoph Waltz Win Newly Formed Critics Awards'

Important: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy, respect, thoughtfulness, and at least a modicum of sanity are imperative.

In other words: Rude/abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Additionally, bear in mind that links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.