***We're looking for contributors***

Natalie Portman, Colin Firth, Melissa Leo, Christian Bale: Florida Film Critics' Winners

Melissa Leo, The FighterMelissa Leo, The Fighter

Christopher Nolan's mind-bending sci-fi/thriller Inception won more awards from the Florida Film Critics Circle than any other 2010 release, but David Fincher's Facebook drama The Social Network was the actual (unsurprising) leader in terms of prestige, bagging trophies for Best Film, Best Director, and Best Adapted Screenplay (Aaron Sorkin). (See below list of Florida Film Critics' award winners.)

In the acting categories, Natalie Portman was once again Best Actress for Darren Aronofsky's Black Swan. Colin Firth won another Best Actor award for Tom Hooper's The King's Speech, while Melissa Leo and Christian Bale topped one more time the supporting categories for their roles in David O. Russell's The Fighter. Leo and Bale each won “by comfortable margins,” according to the Florida critics' press release.

Inception's awards were for Best Original Screenplay (Christopher Nolan), Best Cinematography (Wally Pfister), Best Art Direction/Production Design (Brad Ricker and Guy Hendrix Dyas, respectively), and Best Visual Effects.

Other winners included Luca Guadagnino's I Am Love as Best Foreign Language Film, Lee Unkrich's Toy Story 3 as Best Animated Film and Amin Bar-Lev's The Tillman Story as Best Documentary.

In “a close competition” with True Grit co-star Hailee Steinfeld, Winter's Bone star Jennifer Lawrence won the Pauline Kael Breakout Award.

The Golden Orange award, “given for a significant contribution to film and/or filmmaking in Florida,” went to Matthew Curtis, programming director for the Enzian Theater and the Florida Film Festival in Orlando. Curtis was honored for “continuing to bring diverse programming to Orlando's lone art house and being similarly dedicated to ensuring that the Florida Film Festival is a significant component of Central Florida's film culture for the past two decades.”

Founded in 1996, the Florida Film Critics Circle is comprised of 19 writers from state publications. Dan Hudak of www.hudakonhollywood.com has served as chairman since March 2008. FFCC website.

Photo: The Fighter (Paramount Pictures)

Andrew Garfield, The Social Network
Andrew Garfield, The Social Network

Best Picture: The Social Network

Best Foreign Language Film: I Am Love

Best Dir.: David Fincher, The Social Network

Best Actor: Colin Firth, The King's Speech

Best Actress: Natalie Portman, Black Swan

Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale, The Fighter

Best Supporting Actress: Melissa Leo, The Fighter

Best Adapted Screenplay Aaron Sorkin, The Social Network

Best Original Screenplay Christopher Nolan, Inception

Best Cinematography: Wally Pfister, Inception

Best Visual Effects: Inception

Best Art Direction/Production Design: Inception

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3

Best Documentary: The Tillman Story

Pauline Kael Breakout Award: Jennifer Lawrence, Winter's Bone

Golden Orange: Matthew Curtis, Enzian Theater and Florida Film Festival, Orlando

Photo: The Social Network (Merrick Morton / Sony Pictures)

If you liked the article Natalie Portman, Colin Firth, Melissa Leo, Christian Bale: Florida Film Critics' Winners, please recommend it to your friends. See floating share buttons on the left.
Follow Alt Film Guide on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.

Continue Reading: 'The Social Network,' 'A Prophet': Chicago Film Critics Awards

Previous Post: Noomi Rapace & Anne Hathaway: Surprising Satellite Award Winners

Natalie Portman, Colin Firth, Melissa Leo, Christian Bale: Florida Film Critics' Winners © 2004–2016 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Natalie Portman, Colin Firth, Melissa Leo, Christian Bale: Florida Film Critics' Winners'

Important: It's perfectly fine to disagree with our own and/or other commenters' views and opinions, but thoughtfulness and at least a modicum of sanity are imperative.

In other words: Spammy, rude/abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain demented comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Additionally, bear in mind that a) harassment will not be tolerated b) links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.