***We're looking for contributors***

Online Film Critics Winners: Helen Mirren, Martin Scorsese

The 10th Online Film Critics Society award nominations were announced on January 2, 2007.

The 10th Online Film Critics Society award winners were announced on January 8, 2007.

There were few major surprises in the Online Film Critics Society's list of 2006 nominees, though Guillermo del Toro's haunting and ultra-violent “fairy tale for adults,” El Laberinto del fauno / Pan's Labyrinth, scored remarkably well: 6 nominations, including Best Picture, Best Foreign Film, Best Director, and Best Original Screenplay (also del Toro). (Unfortunately, there was no Best Supporting Actor nod for Sergi López, whose performance as a sadistic military fascist is probably this reviewer's favorite in that category — or it's at least right up there.)

Also, Children of Men — which has been mostly ignored by year-end awards groups (except for Emmanuel Lubezki's cinematography) received a surprising five nominations — including Best Picture and Best Director (Alfonso Cuarón). (Cuarón was recently voted Best Director by the Utah Film Critics Association.)

Pedro Almodóvar's Volver — this reviewer's top 2006 film released in the U.S. — received a mere two nods: Best Foreign Film and Best Actress for Penélope Cruz. Perhaps the Online critics felt that to have four Spanish-speakers as the year's top directors would be a bit much… (Mexicans del Toro, Cuarón, and Alejandro González Iñárritu - for Babel — are the three that did get shortlisted.)

In any case, considering how poorly Volver has fared with award-giving U.S. critics' groups, two nominations are not bad at all.

Other top Online Film Critics nominees include Babel (9 noms), The Departed (7), and Little Miss Sunshine (4).

(”*” denotes the winner in each category)

Best Picture
Children of Men
The Departed
Pan's Labyrinth
* United 93 by Paul Greengrass

Best Foreign Film
The Death of Mr. Lazarescu
The Child
* Pan's Labyrinth
by Guillermo del Toro

Best Documentary
Dave Chappelle's Block Party
* An Inconvenient Truth
by Davis Guggenheim
Jesus Camp
Neil Young Heart of Gold
Shut Up & Sing

Best Director
Alfonso Cuarón - Children of Men
Paul Greengrass - United 93
Alejandro González Iñárritu - Babel
* Martin Scorsese - The Departed
Guillermo del Toro - Pan's Labyrinth

Best Actor
Sacha Baron Cohen - Borat
Leonardo DiCaprio - The Departed
Ryan Gosling - Half Nelson
Peter O'Toole - Venus
* Forest Whitaker - The Last King of Scotland

Best Actress
Penélope Cruz - Volver
Judi Dench - Notes on a Scandal
* Helen Mirren - The Queen
Meryl Streep - The Devil Wears Prada
Kate Winslet - Little Children

Best Supporting Actor
Alan Arkin - Little Miss Sunshine
* Jackie Earle Haley - Little Children
Eddie Murphy - Dreamgirls
Jack Nicholson - The Departed
Mark Wahlberg - The Departed

Best Supporting Actress
Adriana Barraza - Babel
Cate Blanchett - Notes on a Scandal
* Abigail Breslin - Little Miss Sunshine
Jennifer Hudson - Dreamgirls
Rinko Kikuchi - Babel

Best Original Screenplay
Little Miss Sunshine
* Guillermo del Toro - Pan's Labyrinth
The Queen
United 93

Best Adapted Screenplay
* Alfonso Cuarón, Timothy J. Sexton, David Arata, Mark Fergus, Hawk Ostby - Children of Men
The Departed
Little Children
The Prestige
Thank You for Smoking

Best Animated Film
Happy Feet
Monster House
* A Scanner Darkly
by Richard Linklater
Over the Hedge

Best Cinematography
* Emmanuel Lubeski - Children of Men
The Fountain
Pan's Labyrinth

Best Editing
Children of Men
The Departed
The Fountain
* Clare Douglas, Richard Pearson, Christopher Rouse - United 93

Best Original Score
* Clint Mansell - The Fountain
The Illusionist
Notes on a Scandal
Pan's Labyrinth

Breakthrough Filmmaker
* Jonathan Dayton, Valerie Faris - Little Miss Sunshine
Ryan Fleck - Half Nelson
Rian Johnson - Brick
Neil Marshall - The Descent
Jason Reitman - Thank You for Smoking

Breakthrough Performer
* Sacha Baron Cohen - Borat
Shareeka Epps - Half Nelson
Jennifer Hudson - Dreamgirls
Rinko Kikuchi - Babel
Ellen Page - Hard Candy

If you liked the article Online Film Critics Winners: Helen Mirren, Martin Scorsese, please recommend it to your friends. See floating share buttons on the left.
Follow Alt Film Guide on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.
Online Film Critics Winners: Helen Mirren, Martin Scorsese © 2004-2016 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Continue Reading: 'The Invisible Boy' Herman Hoffman

Previous Post: Cinesation 2007

Leave a comment about 'Online Film Critics Winners: Helen Mirren, Martin Scorsese'

Important: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy, respect, thoughtfulness, and at least a modicum of sanity are imperative.

In other words: Rude/abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Most recent comments listed on top.