Oscar Winners: SAG Awards Replay, Few Surprises

Oscar 2014 winners Lupita Nyong'o Jared LetoOscar 2014 winners and nominees (image: Oscar winners Lupita Nyong'o and Jared Leto chat at the 2014 Oscar ceremony)

Best Picture: American Hustle, Charles Roven, Richard Suckle, Megan Ellison, Jonathan Gordon; Captain Phillips, Scott Rudin, Dana Brunetti, Michael De Luca; Dallas Buyers Club, Robbie Brenner, Rachel Winter; Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman; Her, Megan Ellison, Spike Jonze, Vincent Landay; Nebraska, Albert Berger, Ron Yerxa; Philomena, Gabrielle Tana, Steve Coogan, Tracey Seaward; 12 Years a Slave, Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Anthony Katagas; The Wolf of Wall Street, Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Joey McFarland, Emma Tillinger Koskoff.

Best Foreign Language Film: The Broken Circle Breakdown, Belgium; The Great Beauty, Italy; The Hunt, Denmark; The Missing Picture, Cambodia; Omar, Palestine.

Best Actress: Amy Adams, American Hustle; Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine; Sandra Bullock, Gravity; Judi Dench, Philomena; Meryl Streep, August: Osage County.

Best Actor: Christian Bale, American Hustle; Bruce Dern, Nebraska; Leonardo DiCaprio, The Wolf of Wall Street; Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave; Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club.

Best Supporting Actor: Barkhad Abdi, Captain Phillips; Bradley Cooper, American Hustle; Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave; Jonah Hill, The Wolf of Wall Street; Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club.

Best Supporting Actress: Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine; Jennifer Lawrence, American Hustle; Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave; Julia Roberts, August: Osage County; June Squibb, Nebraska.

Best Director: American Hustle, David O. Russell; Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón; Nebraska, Alexander Payne; 12 Years a Slave, Steve McQueen; The Wolf of Wall Street, Martin Scorsese.

Best Adapted Screenplay Before Midnight, Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke; Captain Phillips, Billy Ray; Philomena, Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope; 12 Years a Slave, John Ridley; The Wolf of Wall Street, Terence Winter.

Best Original Screenplay American Hustle, Eric Warren Singer, David O. Russell; Blue Jasmine, Woody Allen; Dallas Buyers Club, Craig Borten, Melisa Wallack; Her, Spike Jonze; Nebraska, Bob Nelson.

Best Documentary Feature: The Act of Killing, Joshua Oppenheimer, Signe Byrge Sørensen; Cutie and the Boxer, Zachary Heinzerling, Lydia Dean Pilcher; Dirty Wars, Richard Rowley, Jeremy Scahill; The Square, Jehane Noujaim, Karim Amer; 20 Feet from Stardom, Morgan Neville, Caitrin Rogers, Gil Friesen.

Best Animated Feature: The Croods, Chris Sanders, Kirk DeMicco, Kristine Belson; Despicable Me 2, Chris Renaud, Pierre Coffin, Chris Meledandri; Ernest & Celestine, Benjamin Renner, Didier Brunner; Frozen, Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee, Peter Del Vecho; The Wind Rises, Hayao Miyazaki, Toshio Suzuki.

Best Cinematography: The Grandmaster, Philippe Le Sourd; Gravity, Emmanuel Lubezki; Inside Llewyn Davis, Bruno Delbonnel; Nebraska, Phedon Papamichael; Prisoners, Roger A. Deakins.

Best Film Editing: American Hustle, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers, Alan Baumgarten; Captain Phillips, Christopher Rouse; Dallas Buyers Club, John Mac McMurphy, Martin Pensa; Gravity, Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger; 12 Years a Slave, Joe Walker.

Best Original Score: The Book Thief, John Williams; Gravity, Steven Price; Her, William Butler, Owen Pallett; Philomena, Alexandre Desplat; Saving Mr. Banks, Thomas Newman.

Best Original Song: “Alone Yet Not Alone” from Alone Yet Not Alone, Music by Bruce Broughton; Lyric by Dennis Spiegel. “Happy” from Despicable Me 2, Music, Lyric by Pharrell Williams. "Let It Go” from Frozen, Music, Lyric by Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez. “The Moon Song” from Her, Music by Karen O; Lyric by Karen O, Spike Jonze. “Ordinary Love” from Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Music by Paul Hewson, Dave Evans, Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen (U2); Lyric by Paul Hewson (Bono).

Best Production Design: American Hustle, Judy Becker, Set Decoration: Heather Loeffler; Gravity, Andy Nicholson, Set Decoration: Rosie Goodwin, Joanne Woollard; The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin, Set Decoration: Beverley Dunn; Her, K.K. Barrett, Set Decoration: Gene Serdena; 12 Years a Slave, Adam Stockhausen, Set Decoration: Alice Baker.

Best Costume Design: American Hustle, Michael Wilkinson; The Grandmaster, William Chang Suk Ping; The Great Gatsby, Catherine Martin; The Invisible Woman, Michael O'Connor; 12 Years a Slave, Patricia Norris.

Best Visual Effects: Gravity, Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk, Neil Corbould; The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton, Eric Reynolds; Iron Man 3, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash, Dan Sudick; The Lone Ranger, Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams, John Frazier; Star Trek: Into Darkness, Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton.

Best Sound Editing: All Is Lost, Steve Boeddeker, Richard Hymns; Captain Phillips, Oliver Tarney; Gravity, Glenn Freemantle; The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Brent Burge; Lone Survivor, Wylie Stateman.

Best Sound Mixing: Captain Phillips, Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro; Gravity, Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead, Chris Munro; The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick, Tony Johnson; Inside Llewyn Davis, Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff, Peter F. Kurland; Lone Survivor, Andy Koyama, Beau Borders, David Brownlow.

Best Make-Up and Hairstyling: Dallas Buyers Club, Adruitha Lee, Robin Mathews; Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa, Stephen Prouty; The Lone Ranger, Joel Harlow, Gloria Pasqua-Casny.

Best Documentary Short: CaveDigger, Jeffrey Karoff; Facing Fear, Jason Cohen; Karama Has No Walls, Sara Ishaq; The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life, Malcolm Clarke, Nicholas Reed; Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall, Edgar Barens.

Best Animated Short Film: Feral, Daniel Sousa, Dan Golden; Get a Horse!, Lauren MacMullan, Dorothy McKim; Mr. Hublot, Laurent Witz, Alexandre Espigares; Possessions, Shuhei Morita; Room on the Broom, Max Lang, Jan Lachauer.

Best Live Action Short Film: Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me), Esteban Crespo; Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything), Xavier Legrand, Alexandre Gavras; Helium, Anders Walter, Kim Magnusson; Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?), Selma Vilhunen, Kirsikka Saari; The Voorman Problem, Mark Gill, Baldwin Li.

Photo of Lupita Nyong'o and Jared Leto at the 2014 Oscar ceremony: Richard Harbaugh / © A.M.P.A.S.

Oscar Winners: SAG Awards Replay, Few Surprises © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Oscar Winners: SAG Awards Replay, Few Surprises'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.

1 Comment to Oscar Winners: SAG Awards Replay, Few Surprises

  1. Pinda K

    Jared Leto is a great actor!