***We're looking for contributors***

PGA Awards Winners

PGA Awards 2013 winners

Update: Ben Affleck's Argo wins Theatrical Motion Picture PGA Award. Argo producer Ben Affleck tells Steve Pond “I had totally convinced myself they were going to read another name.” Affleck's fellow Argo producers are George Clooney and Grant Heslov.

The Producers Guild of America is currently handing out its PGA Awards in a handful of film and television categories. Contenders for the PGA Award in the Theatrical Feature category include Ben Affleck's Argo, Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty, Benh Zeitlin's Beasts of the Southern Wild, Sam Mendes' Skyfall, Steven Spielberg's Lincoln, Ang Lee's Life of Pi, and David O. Russell's Silver Linings Playbook. [Note: This post will be continually updated, as more PGA Award winners are announced.] [See also: PGA Awards predictions and the possibility of The Weinstein Company threepeating this year.)

Robert De Niro, one of the Oscar-nominated stars of The Weinstein Company's Silver Linings Playbook was one of the presenters of the Milestone Award to Bob and Harvey Weinstein. As quoted by TheWrap's Steve Pond on Twitter, De Niro explained, “When (the Weinsteins) came to me with a movie about mental illness, I thought, which brother do they want me to play?” As for fellow Weinstein admirer Quentin Tarantino, whose Django Unchained was also distributed by TWC and whose Pulp Fiction was distributed by the Weinsteins' Miramax, he let the crowd know that “As far as I'm concerned, [Harvey Weinstein] is the only game in town.”

In his acceptance speech, The Only Game in Town called Steven Spielberg's 20th Century Fox-distributed Lincoln a masterpiece, and added: “For everybody whose movie I didn't acquire over the years, I want to tell you it was a lapse of taste.”

A little while ago, Best Supporting Actress Academy Award nominee Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables) handed the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to the producing team of Eric Fellner and Tim Bevan.

Fellner and Bevan are (at least partly) responsible for a whole array of movies, including Chris Weitz and Paul Weitz's About a Boy; Joel and Ethan Coen's O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Big Lebowski, and Burn After Reading; Joe Wright's Pride & Prejudice; and PGA Award nominee Tom Hooper's Les Misérables. But why would the two movie producers get a TV award? Answer: The Tudors.

Malik Bendjelloul's Academy Award contender Searching for Sugar Man, about the search for '70s rocker Rodriguez, was the winner of the PGA Award in the Documentary Feature category. (See also: “Searching for Sugar Man Top Awards Season Documentary.)

Among the other winners of the competitive PGA Awards 2013 are Wreck-It Ralph in the Animated Feature category; Homeland in the Television Drama category; American Masters in the Non-Fiction TV category; Modern Family in the Television Comedy category; Game Change in the Longform Television category; and Sesame Street in the Children's programming category.

PGA Awards presenters

PGA Awards 2013 presenters include Marlo Thomas; Chris Tucker; Damian Lewis; Jonah Hill; Julianna Margulies; The Weinstein Company-distributed Silver Linings Playbook's Bradley Cooper, who presented the Stanley Kramer Award to The Weinstein Company-distributed documentary Bully, whose director, Lee Hirsch, thanked Harvey Weinstein for “championing this film and being a mentor to me”; and Jennifer Garner, who handed the David O. Selznick Award to recently announced Star Wars VII director J.J. Abrams.

If you liked the article PGA Awards Winners, please recommend it to your friends. See floating share buttons on the left.
Follow Alt Film Guide on Google+, Facebook, and Twitter.
PGA Awards Winners © 2004-2016 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Continue Reading: SAG Awards Winner Anne Hathaway Thanks Actress-Mother

Previous Post: Sundance Awards Winners

Leave a comment about 'PGA Awards Winners'

Important: Different views and opinions are perfectly fine, but courtesy, respect, thoughtfulness, and at least a modicum of sanity are imperative.

In other words: Rude/abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Additionally, bear in mind that links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.