***We're looking for contributors***

Jutra Awards 2006

CRAZY with Marc-Andre Grondin, Michel Cote

2005 Jutra Awards

2005 Jutra Award Winners: Théâtre Maisonneuve de la Place des Arts in Montreal on March 19, 2006.

As expected, Jean-Marc Vallée's blockbuster C.R.A.Z.Y., the story of a gay youth growing up in the Quebec of the 1960s and 1970s, won 13 Jutra Awards, Quebec's top film prize, including best film, best director, best actor (Marc-André Grondin), and best screenplay (Vallée and François Boulay). Additionally, C.R.A.Z.Y. won a special award as the Most Illustrious Film Outside Quebec, and a Billet d'Or given to the biggest box office success of the year.

C.R.A.Z.Y. only lost (to itself) in the best supporting actor category: Pierre-Luc Brillant lost to Michel Côté, who received the best actor Genie Award last week – defeating fellow nominee Grondin.

The Best Actress winner was Élise Guilbault for La Neuvaine.

C.R.A.Z.Y. also dominated the Genie Awards, winning a total of 10 statuettes, including best film and best director.

C.R.A.Z.Y. and Charles Binamé's Maurice Richard, a biopic of Montreal Canadiens hockey player Maurice “Rocket” Richard, had been the two top-nominated films, with 14 nods each. Maurice Richard, however, failed to win a single

Denise Filiatrault, directed Ma vie en cinémascope Veteran actress and director Denise Filiatrault, 74, whose credits include Mado and Ma vie en cinémascope, was the recipient of the Honorary Award.

Filiatrault photo: © Suzanne O'Neill


(“*” denotes the winner in each category)


Meilleur Film / Best Film
L'Audition, Luc Martineau, Lorraine Richard (Cité-Amérique)
* C.R.A.Z.Y., Pierre Even, Jean-Marc Vallée (Cirrus Communications)
Maurice Richard / The Rocket, Denise Robert, Daniel Louis (Cinémaginaire)
La Neuvaine, Bernadette Payeur (ACPAV)

Meilleure Réalisation / Best Director
Charles Binamé (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Bernard Émond (La Neuvaine)
Ricardo Trogi (Horloge biologique)
* Jean-Marc Vallée (C.R.A.Z.Y.)

Meilleur Acteur / Best Actor
Patrick Drolet (La Neuvaine)
Roy Dupuis (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
* Marc-André Grondin (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Luc Picard (L'Audition)

Meilleure Actrice / Best Actress
Hélène Bourgeois-Leclerc (Aurore)
Suzanne Clément (L'Audition)
* Élise Guilbault (La Neuvaine)
Julie Le Breton (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)

Meilleur acteur de soutien / Best Supporting Actor
Denis Bernard (L'Audition)
Pierre-Luc Brillant (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
* Michel Côté (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Alexis Martin (L'Audition)

Meilleure actrice de soutien / Best Supporting Actress
Anne-Marie Cadieux (Maman Last Call)
Diane Lavallée (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
* Danielle Proulx (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Catherine Trudeau (Le Survenant)

Meilleur scénario / Best Screenplay
Bernard Émond (La Neuvaine)
Luc Picard (L'Audition)
Ken Scott (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
* Jean-Marc Vallée and François Boulay (C.R.A.Z.Y.)

Meilleure direction de la photographie / Best Cinematography
Steve Asselin (Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés)
Pierre Gill (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Jean-Claude Labrecque (La Neuvaine)
* Pierre Mignot (C.R.A.Z.Y.)

Meilleur montage image / Best Editing
Michel Arcand (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Louise Côté (La Neuvaine)
* Paul Jutras (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Simon Sauvé (Jimmywork)

Meilleure musique / Best Score
Frédéric Bégin - Phil Electric (Horloge biologique)
* Daniel Bélanger (L'Audition)
Michel Cusson (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Robert Marcel Lepage (La Neuvaine)

Meilleure direction artistique / Best Art Direction
Gilles Aird (Les États-Unis d'Albert)
* Patrice Bricault-Vermette (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Michel Proulx (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Normand Sarrazin (Le Survenant)

Meilleurs costumes / Best Costume Design
Carmen Alie (L'Audition)
Francesca Chamberland (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Ginette Magny (Les Boys IV)
* Ginette Magny (C.R.A.Z.Y.)

Meilleur son / Best Sound
Dominique Chartrand, Olivier Calvert, Hans Peter Strobl (L'Audition)
* Yvon Benoit, Daniel Bisson, Martin Pinsonneault, Jean-François Sauvé, Mira Mailhot, Simon Meilleur, Mireille Morin, Bernard Gariépy-Strobl, Luc Boudrias (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Pierre Bertrand, Sylvain Bellemare, Louis Gignac (Familia)
Claude Hazanavicius, Claude Beaugrand, Luc Boudrias, Bernard Gariépy-Strobl (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)

Meilleur maquillage / Best Make-Up
Kathryn Casault (L'Audition)
Adrien Morot - Diane Simard (Aurore)
Diane Simard (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
* Micheline Trépanier (C.R.A.Z.Y.)

Meilleure coiffure / Best Hair Style
Réjean Forget (Idole instantanée)
* Réjean Goderre (C.R.A.Z.Y.)
Martin Lapointe (Maurice Richard / The Rocket)
Johanne Paiement (Le Survenant)

Meilleur documentaire / Best Documentary (tie)
* La Classe de Madame Lise, Sylvie Groulx (Galafilms)
Danser Perreault, Tim Southam (Les Films de l'Isle)
* Gilles Carle ou l'indomptable imaginaire, Charles Binamé (Amazone Films)
Qui a tiré sur mon frère?, Germán Gutiérrez (Argus)

Meilleur film d'animation / Best Animated Film
cNote, Chris Hinton (Office national du film)
The Curse of the Voodoo Child, Steven Woloshen
* Dehors novembre, Patrick Bouchard (Office national du film)
Tower Bawher, Theodore Ushev (Office national du film)

Meilleur court/moyen métrage / Best Short/Medium-Length Film
L'Air de rien, Frédérick Pelletier (Aviva)
Radio, Patrick Boivin (Kinesis)
Le Rouge au sol, Maxime Giroux (NuFilms)
* Une chapelle blanche, Simon Lavoie (Métafilms)

Prix Jutra-Hommage / Honorary Award: Denise Filiatrault

Billet d'Or / Biggest Box-Office Success: C.R.A.Z.Y.

Most Illustrious Film Outside Quebec: C.R.A.Z.Y.

Meilleur Exploitant de Salle / Best Exhibitor: Tom Fermanian of Cinéma Pine

Jutra Awards 2006 © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Jutra Awards 2006'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.