***We're looking for contributors***


SAG Awards: Ben Affleck ARGO to Win Best Picture Oscar?

SAG Awards Ben Affleck ArgoSAG Awards 2013: Ben Affleck's Argo wins Best Cast; Best Picture Oscar next?

[See previous post: “SAG Award winners Anne Hathaway, Tommy Lee Jones.”] Ben Affleck's Argo, nominated for a single SAG Award in the individual acting categories (for Best Supporting Actor Alan Arkin), won the Best Cast SAG Award for actor-director-coproducer Ben Affleck, and fellow players John Goodman, Bryan Cranston, and Alan Arkin. Curiously, Steven Spielberg's Lincoln, winner of two SAG Awards – Best Supporting Actor Tommy Lee Jones and Best Actor Daniel Day-Lewis – was bypassed for the Best Cast award. (Image: Ben Affleck SAG Awards 2013.)

Of course, it's possible that SAG Award voters would have picked Ben Affleck's well-received and financially successful political thriller whether or not Affleck had been nominated for a Best Director Academy Award. It could also be that Argo won the Best Cast SAG Award chiefly because Affleck, an actor since the early '90s, was omitted from the Academy Awards' Best Director shortlist.

Best Cast SAG Awards vs. the Academy Awards

Now, does the Best Cast SAG Award ensure that Argo will end up winning the Best Picture Oscar? Not necessarily, though actors and producers are clearly behind it; yesterday, Argo received the Producers Guild Award for “best produced” movie of 2012. And remember, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' Actors Branch is by far the largest within that organization.

For the record: Bruce Beresford's Driving Miss Daisy (1989) was the third and last movie to win the Best Picture Academy Award without a matching Best Director nomination. (There were only five Best Picture nominees that year; the Academy changed its Best Picture rules in 2009.)

Also worth noting is that Ron Howard's Apollo 13 (1995) won the first-ever SAG Award for Best Cast, in addition to the Producers Guild Award and the Directors Guild Award. Yet, Apollo 13 lost the Best Picture Oscar to Mel Gibson's Braveheart. Of note: Much like Ben Affleck, director Ron Howard – an actor since the early '60s – was bypassed by the Academy's Directors Branch. Does that mean the Academy hates actors? Hardly. Actor-director Gibson took home the Best Director Oscar that year.

Another one for the record: There have been nine Best Cast SAG Award winners – or about half the total number – that failed to win the Best Picture Academy Award. They are Tate Taylor's The Help (2011), Quentin Tarantino's Inglourious Basterds (2009), Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris' PGA Award-winning Little Miss Sunshine (2006), Alexander Payne's Sideways (2004), and Robert Altman's Gosford Park (2001).

Also: Steven Soderbergh's Traffic (2000), Peter Cattaneo's The Full Monty (1997), Mike Nichols' The Birdcage (1996), and Ron Howard's aforementioned Apollo 13 (1995).

Of the preceding Best Cast SAG Award winners, four failed to receive Best Director Oscar nominations: The Help, Little Miss Sunshine, The Birdcage, and Apollo 13.

[“Ben Affleck's Argo Winner Best Cast at SAG Awards 2013” continues on the next page. See link below.]

Ben Affleck SAG Awards 2013 photo: © SAG Awards.

If you liked the article SAG Awards: Ben Affleck ARGO to Win Best Picture Oscar?, please recommend it to your friends and/or follow Alt Film Guide on social media. See share/follow buttons above.
SAG Awards: Ben Affleck ARGO to Win Best Picture Oscar? © 2004–2017 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'SAG Awards: Ben Affleck ARGO to Win Best Picture Oscar?'

UPDATED COMMENTING RULES: Our articles and/or other people's comments infuriate you?

Well, here's the good news: It's perfectly okay to disagree with our own and/or other commenters' views and opinions.

But ... *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Add something reasonable & coherent to the discussion.

Spammy, abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain demented comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Also, bear in mind that links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.