'A Story of Healing' & 'The Long Way Home' + Leeds Film Festival Winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced that 15 films in the Documentary Feature category will move forward in the voting process for the 81st Academy Awards. A record 94 films had originally qualified in the category.

The 15 films are (in alphabetical order):

At the Death House Door
The Betrayal (Nerakhoon)
Blessed Is the Match: The Life and Death of Hannah Senesh
Encounters at the End of the World
The Garden
Glass: A Portrait of Philip in Twelve Parts
In a Dream
Made in America
Man on Wire
Pray the Devil Back to Hell
Standard Operating Procedure
They Killed Sister Dorothy
Trouble the Water

'A Story of Healing,' 'The Long Way Home': Oscar's Docs

A Story of Healing by Donna DeweyThe two 1997 Oscar-winning documentaries, Donna Dewey's A Story of Healing (right) and Mark Jonathan Harris' The Long Way Home, will be screened as the final installment of “Oscar's Docs, Part Four: Academy Award-Winning Documentaries 1988–1997” on Monday, November 24, at 7:30 p.m. at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' Linwood Dunn Theater in Hollywood.

The documentary short subject A Story of Healing follows American plastic surgeons and nurses who have volunteered to help disfigured children and young adults in Vietnam.  The screening will be followed by an onstage discussion with producer-director Donna Dewey.

The Long Way Home by Mark Jonathan HarrisThe documentary feature The Long Way Home focuses on the years between the liberation of Jews from Nazi concentration camps to the creation of Israel. It features narration and/or readings by Morgan Freeman, Michael York, Edward Asner, Helen Slater, and others. Writer-director Mark Jonathan Harris, producers Richard Trank and Rabbi Marvin Hier (whose Genocide, which he co-produced, won the 1991 Oscar in the documentary feature category), and editor Kate Amend will take part in a post-screening discussion.

“Oscar's Docs” is a comprehensive screening series of every short subject and feature to win the Academy Award for documentary filmmaking since the category was established in 1941.  As per the Academy's release, the retrospective features the best available prints - often newly struck or restored editions from the documentary collection of the Academy Film Archive.

The series will return in September 2009 with its sixth installment, screening Academy Award-winning documentaries between 1988 and 2008.

Tickets to each “Oscar's Docs” screening are $5 for the general public and $3 for Academy members and students with a valid ID.

The Linwood Dunn Theater is located at 1313 Vine Street in Hollywood.  Free parking is available through the entrance on Homewood Avenue (one block north of Fountain Avenue). 

For additional information, visit www.oscars.org or call (310) 247-3600.

2008 Leeds Film Festival Awards

2008 Leeds Film Festival: November 4-16, 2008

Set in Kashmir, Tariq Tapa's Zero Bridge chronicles the day-to-day lives of several inhabitants of that strife-ridden Indian province. 

Golden Owl Awards

Best Film: Zero Bridge, directed by Tariq Tapa, India/USA

Special Mention: Sita Sings the Blues, directed by Nina Paley, USA

Silver Méliès Awards

Best European Genre Feature: Mum &Dad, directed by Steven Sheil, UK

Special Mention: Sexykiller, directed by Miguel Marti

Best European Genre Short: Short Cut, directed by Pascal Chind, France

Short Film Awards

Best International Short: René, directed by Tobias Noelle, Switzerland

Best International Fiction Short: René, directed by Tobias Noelle, Switzerland

Special Mention: Alexandra, directed by Radu Jude, Romania

Special Mention: Mompelaar, directed by Marc Roels / Wim Reygaert, Belgium

Best International Animation Short: Skhizein, directed by Jeremy Clapin, France

Special Mention: The Pearce Sisters, directed by Luis Cook, UK

Special Mention: Monsieur Cok, directed by Franck Dion, France

Best International Experimental Short: Vertigo Rush, directed by Johann Lurf, Austria

Special Mention: Mosaik Mecanique, directed by Norbert Pfaffenbichler, Austria

Special Mention: Magnetic Movie, directed by Ruth Jarman / Joe Gerhard, UK/USA

Best International Documentary Short: Plane Days, directed by Ewan McNicol / Benjamin Kracun, UK

Special Mention: 52 Percent, directed by Rafal Skalski, Poland

Best International Fantasy Short: I Love Sarah Jane, directed by Spencer Susser, Australia

Special Mention: Terminus, directed by Trevor Cawood, Canada

Special Mention: Stagman, directed by Virginie Gourmel, Belgium

Best British Short: Ralph, directed by Alex Winckler

Special Mention: Pop Art, directed by Amanda Boyle

Special Mention: Cherries, directed by Tom Harper

Best Yorkshire Short: Mother, Mine, directed by Susan Everett

Special Mention: There's Only One Bob Latchford, directed by Mick Arnold

Golden Owl Jury: John Bradburn – filmmaker, journalist and lecturer; Paolo Moretti – Programme Advisor to the Director of Venice Film Festival; Luciano Chelotti – Head of PR at Network distribution

Silver Méliès Awards Jury: Shelley O'Brien – Principal Lecturer in Film at Sheffield Hallam University; Emily Booth – Actor, presenter and producer; Karen Cooper Journalist

Animated films eligible for the Academy Awards

Fourteen features have been submitted for consideration in the Animated Feature Film category for the 81st Academy Awards®.

The 14 submitted features are:

Dr. Seuss' Horton Hears a Who!
Dragon Hunters
Fly Me to the Moon
Kung Fu Panda
Madagascar: Escape 2 Africa
The Sky Crawlers
Sword of the Stranger
The Tale of Despereaux
Waltz with Bashir

Bolt, Delgo, Dragon Hunters, $9.99, The Sky Crawlers, The Tale of Despereaux and Waltz with Bashir have not yet had their required Los Angeles qualifying run. Submitted features must fulfill the theatrical release requirements and meet all of the category's other qualifying rules before they can advance in the voting process.

Under the rules for this category, a maximum of 3 films can be nominated in a year in which the field of eligible entries numbers at least 8 but fewer than 16.

Films submitted in the Animated Feature Film category also may qualify for Academy Awards in other categories, including Best Picture, provided they meet the requirements for those categories.

The 81st Academy Awards nominations will be announced on Thursday, January 22, 2009, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Academy Awards for outstanding film achievements of 2008 will be presented on Sunday, February 22, 2009, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center®, and televised live by the ABC Television Network. The Oscar presentation also will be televised live in more than 200 countries worldwide.

'A Story of Healing' & 'The Long Way Home' + Leeds Film Festival Winners © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about ''A Story of Healing' & 'The Long Way Home' + Leeds Film Festival Winners'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.