***We're looking for contributors***


Iranian Drama Tops Tribeca Film Festival Awards

Tribeca Film Festival 2009: April 22-May 3 '09


The Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature: About Elly / Darbareye Elly, directed and written by Asghar Farhadi

Best New Narrative Filmmaker: Rune Denstad Langlo for North / Nord, written by Erlend Loe

Best Actor: Ciarán Hinds in The Eclipse, directed and written by Conor McPherson

Best Actress: Zoe Kazan in The Exploding Girl, directed and written by Bradley Rust Gray

Best Documentary Feature: Racing Dreams, directed by Marshall Curry

Special Jury Mention: Defamation / Hashmatsa, directed by Yoav Shamir

Best New Documentary Filmmaker: Ian Olds for Fixer: The Taking of Ajmal Naqshbandi


New York Competition

Best New York Narrative: Here and There / Tamo i ovde, directed and written by Darko Lungulov

Best New York Documentary: Partly Private, directed by Danae Elon


Short Film Competition

Best Narrative Short: The North Road / La route du Nord, directed and written by Carlos Chahine

Best Documentary Short: Home, directed by Matthew Faust

Special Jury Mention: The Last Mermaids, directed by Liz Chae

Student Visionary Award: Small Change, directed and written by Anna McGrath

Special Jury Mention: Oda a la Piña, directed and written by Laimir Fano

Babelgum Awards

2009 Babelgum Online Film Festival Award winners: April 27, 2009 at the Tribeca Film Festival in New York City

In Francesco Sperandeo's Bab Al Samah / The Door of Forgiveness, a man's desire to get over past humiliations, symbolized by a heavy, old door, leads him on a life-changing journey.

Looking for Genius Award: BAB AL SAMAH / THE DOOR OF FORGIVENESS by Francesco Sperandeo (Italy)

Spike Lee Award / Short Film: MARADONA BABY by Nino Sabella (Italy)

Spike Lee Award / Animation: HEY ANIMATION MUSIC VIDEO by Guy Ben Shetrit (Israel)

Spike Lee Award / Documentary: THE LADIES by Christina Voros (United States)

Spike Lee Award / Mini Masterpiece: I HAD A DREAM I WENT TO CONEY ISLAND by Sherwin Akbarzadeh (Iran)

Professional Jury Award / Short Film: THE DOOR OF FORGIVENESS by Francesco Sperandeo (Italy)

Professional Jury Award / Animation: MR. HAPPY by Michael Patrick O'Hara (Canada)

Professional Jury Award / Documentary: GLUE by Joseph Cottrell-Boyce (United Kingdom)

Professional Jury Award / Mini Masterpiece: DECKLIN AND THE DARKNESS by Lance Dumais (United States)


Jury: Richard Abramowitz, President of Abramorama, a consulting firm that serves the film industry in the production, marketing, and distribution of independent films (U.S.), Joe Bateman, Festival Director of the Rushes Soho Shorts Festival (U.K.), Michael Cox, Talent Executive for Chelsea Lately on E! Entertainment (U.S.), Tiziana Loschi, Managing Director of the Annecy International Animated Film Festival/Citia (City of Moving Images) (France), Carl Spence, Artistic Director of the Seattle International Film Festival and Director of Programming of the Palm Springs International Film Festival (U.S).

If you liked the article Iranian Drama Tops Tribeca Film Festival Awards, please recommend it to your friends and/or follow Alt Film Guide on social media. See share/follow buttons above.

Continue Reading: Honorary Foreign Film Award Finalists

Previous Post: Torino GLBT Film Festival Awards 2009

Iranian Drama Tops Tribeca Film Festival Awards © 2004–2017 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Iranian Drama Tops Tribeca Film Festival Awards'

UPDATED COMMENTING RULES: Our articles and/or other people's comments infuriate you?

Well, here's the good news: It's perfectly okay to disagree with our own and/or other commenters' views and opinions.

But ... *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Add something reasonable & coherent to the discussion.

Spammy, abusive, bigoted, baseless (spreading misinformation), trollish/inflammatory, and/or just plain demented comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

Also, bear in mind that links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.