Student Academy Award Winners: 'Simulacra'

Eleven students from eight US colleges and universities have been named winners in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 35th Annual Student Academy Awards competition. The winners will take part in a week of industry-related activities and social events, culminating in the awards ceremony on June 7 at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. Now, though each winner will receive an award, their placement – Gold, Silver or Bronze – will not be revealed until the June 7 ceremony.

Additionally, one film student from Germany has been selected to receive the 2008 Honorary Foreign Film award.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title within category):

Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant d: Shih-Ting Hung

Circles of Confusion, Phoebe Tooke, San Francisco State University
Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant (above), Shih-Ting Hung, University of Southern California

Simulacra d: Tatchapon Lertwirojkul

Simulacra (above), Tatchapon Lertwirojkul, The School of Visual Arts
The Visionary, Evan Mayfield, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
Zoologic, Nicole Mitchell, California Institute of the Arts

As We Forgive, Laura Waters Hinson, American University, Washington, D.C.
If a Body Meet a Body (above), Brian Davis, University of Southern California
Unattached, J.J. Adler, Columbia University

A Day's Work d: Rajeev Dassani

A Day's Work (above), Rajeev Dassani, University of Southern California
Pitstop, Melanie McGraw, University of Southern California
The State of Sunshine, Z. Eric Yang, Florida State University

On the Line, Reto Caffi

Honorary Foreign Film
Auf der Strecke / On the Line, Reto Caffi, Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, Germany

In addition to a trophy, Gold Medal winners receive $5,000, Silver Medal winners receive $3,000, and Bronze Medal winners receive $2,000. The Honorary Foreign Film winner receives $1,000 in addition to a trophy.

The U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions was permitted to send as many as three finalist films in each of four award categories. Academy members then screened the finalists' films and voted to select the winners.

Auf der Strecke / On the Line was selected from a pool of 43 entries representing 29 countries.

As per the Academy's press release, the Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 “to support and encourage excellence in filmmaking at the collegiate level.” Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 35 Oscar nominations and have won or shared six Academy Awards.

Tickets for the 35th Annual Student Academy Awards presentation ceremony, at which the Gold Medal-winning films and the Honorary Foreign Film will be screened in their entirety, are free and now available. A maximum of four tickets may be requested online at, in person at the Academy box office, by mail, or by calling the Student Academy Awards department at (310) 247-3000, ext. 130. The ceremony will be held on Saturday, June 7, at 6 p.m. at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater, located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills. Doors open at 5 p.m. All seating is unreserved.

Student Academy Award Winners: 'Simulacra' © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Student Academy Award Winners: 'Simulacra''

NOTE: *Thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative. Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped. Links found in comments will generally be deleted.