'Avatar,' 'Star Trek': Film Editors Nominations

Stephen Lang in AvatarStephen Lang in Avatar (ILM / 20th Century Fox).

More sci-fi films are up for major Hollywood awards. Three of the nominees for the American Cinema Editors' ACE Eddie Awards are Avatar, District 9 and Star Trek. The two other dramatic feature entries are The Hurt Locker and Up in the Air.

Two Meryl Streep vehicles directed by women are in the running in the best comedy or musical category: Nora Ephron's Julie & Julia and Nancy Meyers' It's Complicated. Streep's flicks are competing against (500) Days of Summer, The Hangover and A Serious Man.

In the animated film category, the contenders are Coraline, Fantastic Mr. Fox and Up, while the Michael Jackson documentary This Is It, The Cove and Food, Inc. are up for the documentary award.

The three nominees in the miniseries or TV movie category, are Grey Gardens, Into the Storm and Taking Chance.

Winners will be announced at ACE's awards ceremony Feb. 14 at the Beverly Hilton.

Feature film (dramatic)
Avatar, Stephen Rivkin, John Refua & James Cameron
District 9, Julian Clarke
The Hurt Locker, Bob Murawski & Chris Innis
Star Trek, Maryann Brandon & Mary Jo Markey
Up in the Air, Dana Glauberman

Feature film (comedy or musical)
500 Days of Summer, Alan Edward Bell
The Hangover, Debra Neil-Fisher
Julie & Julia, Richard Marks
A Serious Man, Roderick Jaynes (a.k.a. Joel and Ethan Coen)
It's Complicated, Joe Hutshing & David Moritz

The Cove, Geoffrey Richman
Food, Inc., Kim Roberts
This Is It, Don Brochu & Kevin Stitt

Best edited animated feature film
Coraline, Christopher Murrie & Ronald Sanders
Fantastic Mr. Fox, Andrew Weisblum
Up, Kevin Nolting

Half-hour series for television
30 Rock: “Apollo Apollo,” Ken Eluto
Curb Your Enthusiasm: “The Bare Midriff,” Steven Rasch
Entourage: “The Sorkin Notes,” Steven Sprung

One-hour series for commercial television
24: “8pm-9pm,” Leon Ortiz Gil
Breaking Bad: “ABQ,” Lynne Willingham
ER: “And in the End,” Randy Jon Morgan & Jacque Toberen
Law & Order SVU: “Hardwired,” Karen Stern
Lost: “The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham,” Christopher Nelson

One-hour series for non-commercial television
Dexter: “Living the Dream,” Stewart Schill
Dexter: “Remains to be Seen,” Louis Cioffi
True Blood: “Hard-Hearted Hannah,” Louise Innes

Miniseries or motion picture for television
Grey Gardens, Alan Heim & Lee Percy
Into the Storm, John Bloom & Antonia Van Drimmelen
Taking Chance, Lee Percy & Brian A. Kates

Reality series
The Deadliest Catch: “Stay Focused Ordie,” Kelly Coskran & Josh Earl
Expedition Africa: “Stanley and Livingstone,” Jonathon Braun, Brad Ley, Sven Pape & Molly Schock
Top Chef: “The Last Supper,” Annie Tighe, Alan Hoang, Adrienne Salisbury & Kevin Leffler

Source: The Hollywood Reporter

'Avatar,' 'Star Trek': Film Editors Nominations © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about ''Avatar,' 'Star Trek': Film Editors Nominations'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.