Shah Rukh Khan, Rani Mukherji: Indian Film Academy Awards' Winners

Shahrukh Khan Swades

Indian Film Academy 2005 nominations have been announced

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) has announced the nominees for the 2005 IIFA awards. (Image: Shahrukh Khan Swades.)

The five Best Film nominees are: Dhoom, Sanjay Gadhvi's tale of music and motorbikes; Kunal Kohli's romantic dramedy Hum Tum; David Dhawan's Mujhse Shaadi Karogi (MSK), the story of a man (Salman Khan) in dire need of anger management counseling; Ashutosh Gowariker's Swades, in which an Indian space scientist (Shahrukh Khan) rediscovers his roots during a visit to his hometown; and Yash Chopra's Veer-Zaara, a tale of doomed love involving an Indian man (once again Shahrukh Khan) and a Pakistani woman (Preity Zinta).

Indian Film Academy Award: Academy Awards and People's Choice Awards mix

The voting process, a sort of Academy Awards and People's Choice Awards mélange, is conducted in two stages. On a particular weekend, members of India's film industry gather to vote in both the “popular” categories and the technical categories. The winners in the technical categories are decided during that first voting phase (this year's winners will be announced on May 16), while the names of the five nominees in each popular category are then posted on various websites around the globe so the filmgoing public can pick the winners.

This year's ceremony will take place on June 11 at Amsterdam's Arena Stadium, as part of a series of Indian film and business events scheduled for that week in The Netherlands.

Shahrukh Khan Swades photo: Ashutosh Gowariker Productions.

2005 International Indian Film Academy Award winners: Amsterdam on June 11, 2005

Note: Winners of the Popular Categories are chosen by the public, who vote on the nominees selected by the International Indian Film Academy. Technical Categories have no nominations; the winners are chosen by the International Indian Film Academy.

Indian Film Academy Awards – 2005 Nominations

(” *” denotes the winner in each category)


Best Film
Hum Tum / You and Me
Mujhse Shaadi Karogi

* Veer-Zaara

Best Director
Ashutosh Gowarikar – Swades
David Dhawan – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi
Farah Khan – Main Hoon Na
Kunal Kohli – Hum Tum / You and Me
* Yash Chopra – Veer-Zaara

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Nana Patekar – Ab Tak Chhappan
Saif Ali Khan – Hum Tum / You and Me
Salman Khan – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi
Shah Rukh Khan – Swades
* Shah Rukh Khan – Veer-Zaara

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Kareena Kapoor – Aitraaz
Priyanka Chopra – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi
* Rani Mukherji – Hum Tum / You and Me
Shilpa Shetty – Phir Milenge
Urmila Matondkar – Ek Hasina Thi

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
* Abhishek Bachchan – Yuva
Amitabh Bachchan – Veer-Zaara
Pankaj Kapur – Maqbool
Paresh Rawal – Aitraaz
Zayed Khan – Main Hoon Na

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Divya Dutta – Veer-Zaara
Esha Deol – Dhoom
Kishori Ballal – Swades
* Rani Mukherji – Veer-Zaara
Rani Mukherji – Yuva

Best Performance in a Comic Role
* Akshay Kumar – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi
Arshad Warsi – Hulchul
Paresh Rawal – Hulchul
Riteish Deshmukh – Masti
Uday Chopra – Dhoom

Best Performance in a Negative Role
Ajay Devgan – Khakee
* John AbrahamDhoom
Saif Ali Khan – Ek Hasina Thi
Sanjay Dutt – Musafir
Suniel Shetty – Main Hoon Na

Best Music Director
Anu Malik – Murder
Anu Malik – Main Hoon Na
Himesh Reshammiya – Aitraaz
Pritam – Dhoom
Sajid-Wajid – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi
* Late Madan Mohan – Veer-Zaara

Best Story
* Aditya Chopra – Veer-Zaara
Anurag Basu – Murder
M. G. Sathya and Ashutosh Gowarikar – Swades
Sandeep Shrivastava – Ab Tak Chhappan
Shiraz Ahmed and Shyam Goel – Aitraaz

Best Lyrics (tie)
Arun Bhairav – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi –“Lal Dupatta”
Dev Kohli – Musafir – “Saaki Saaki”
* Javed Akhtar – Swades –“Pal Pal Hai Bhari”
Sameer – Aitraaz –“Woh Tassvur Ka Aalam”
* Sayeed Quadri – Murder –“Bheegay Hooth Tere”

Best Male Playback Singer
* Kunal Ganjawala – Murder –“Bheegay Hooth Tere”
Sonu Nigam – Main Hoon Na – “Main Hoon Na”
Udit Narayan – Aitraaz –“Aakhe Bandh Karke”
Udit Narayan – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi –“Lal Dupatta”
Udit Narayan – Swades –“Yeh Tara Woh Tara”

Best Female Playback Singer
Alka Yagnik – Aitraaz –“Aakhe Bandh Karke”
Alka Yagnik – Hum Tum / You and Me –“Hum Tum” (sad version)
Alka Yagnik – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi –“Lal Dupatta”
Sunidhi Chauhan – Chameli –“Sajna Ve”
* Sunidhi Chauhan – Dhoom –“Dhoom Machale”



Best Dialogue
Vishal Bharadwaj – Maqbool

Best Screenplay
Abbas Tyrewala and Vishal Bharadwaj – Maqbool

Best Editing
Hussain Barmawala – Aitraaz

Best Cinematography
Asim Bajaj – Chameli

Best Art Direction
Sharmista Roy – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi

Best Costume Design
Vikram Phadnis – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi

Best Choreography
Farah Khan – Mujhse Shaadi Karogi

Best Action Direction / Stunt Coordinator
Allan Amin – Dhoom

Best Special Effects
Main Hoon Na

Best Sound Recording

Best Score
Mujhse Shaadi Karogi

Best Song Recording

Best Makeup



Lifetime Achievement Award
Cinematographer V. K. Murthy and actress Shabana Azmi

Global Indian Media Personality Trophy
Aishwarya Rai

Best Debutante
Ayesha Takia

Best First-Time Director
Farah Khan – Main Hoon Na

Samsung Style Icon Award
Hrithik Roshan

Samsung Style Diva Award
Preity Zinta

Shah Rukh Khan, Rani Mukherji: Indian Film Academy Awards' Winners © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Shah Rukh Khan, Rani Mukherji: Indian Film Academy Awards' Winners'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.