Alt Film Guide
Classic movies. Gay movies. International cinema. Socially conscious & political cinema.
Home Movie News Oscar Winners 2017

Oscar Winners 2017

Ramon Novarro biography Beyond Paradise

Best Picture
Arrival – Shawn Levy. Dan Levine. Aaron Ryder. David Linde.
Fences – Scott Rudin. Denzel Washington. Todd Black.
Hacksaw Ridge – Bill Mechanic. David Permut.
Hell or High Water – Carla Hacken. Julie Yorn.
Hidden Figures – Donna Gigliotti. Peter Chernin. Jenno Topping. Pharrell Williams. Theodore Melfi.
La La Land – Fred Berger. Jordan Horowitz. Marc Platt.
Lion – Emile Sherman. Iain Canning. Angie Fielder.
Manchester by the SeaMatt Damon. Kimberly Steward. Chris Moore. Lauren Beck. Kevin J. Walsh.
* Moonlight – Adele Romanski. Dede Gardner. Jeremy Kleiner.

Best Foreign Language Film
Land of Mine (Denmark) in Danish – Martin Zandvliet.
A Man Called Ove (Sweden) in Swedish – Hannes Holm.
* The Salesman (Iran) in Persian – Asghar Farhadi.
Tanna (Australia) in Nauvhal – Martin Butler. Bentley Dean.
Toni Erdmann (Germany) in German – Maren Ade.

Best Director
Denis Villeneuve – Arrival.
Mel GibsonHacksaw Ridge.
* Damien Chazelle – La La Land.
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea.
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight.

Best Actress
Isabelle HuppertElle as Michèle Leblanc.
Ruth Negga – Loving as Mildred Loving.
Natalie PortmanJackie as Jackie Kennedy.
* Emma StoneLa La Land as Mia Dolan.
Meryl StreepFlorence Foster Jenkins as Florence Foster Jenkins.

Best Actor
* Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea as Lee Chandler.
Andrew GarfieldHacksaw Ridge as Desmond T. Doss.
Ryan Gosling – La La Land as Sebastian Wilder.
Viggo MortensenCaptain Fantastic as Ben Cash.
Denzel Washington – Fences as Troy Maxson.

Best Supporting Actor
* Mahershala Ali – Moonlight as Juan.
Jeff BridgesHell or High Water as Marcus Hamilton.
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea as Patrick Chandler.
Dev PatelLion as Saroo Brierley.
Michael ShannonNocturnal Animals as Detective Bobby Andes.

Best Supporting Actress
* Viola DavisFences as Rose Maxson.
Naomie Harris – Moonlight as Paula.
Nicole KidmanLion as Sue Brierley.
Octavia Spencer – Hidden Figures as Dorothy Vaughan.
Michelle WilliamsManchester by the Sea as Randi.

Best Original Screenplay
Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan.
La La Land – Damien Chazelle.
The Lobster – Yorgos Lanthimos. Efthimis Filippou.
* Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan.
20th Century Women – Mike Mills.

Best Adapted Screenplay
Arrival – Eric Heisserer from “Story of Your Life” by Ted Chiang.
Fences – August Wilson from Fences by August Wilson (posthumous nomination).
Hidden Figures – Allison Schroeder. Theodore Melfi from Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly.
Lion – Luke Davies from A Long Way Home by Saroo Brierley. Larry Buttrose.
* Moonlight – Barry Jenkins. Tarell Alvin McCraney from In Moonlight Black Boys Look Blue by Tarell Alvin McCraney.

Best Animated Feature Film
Kubo the Two Strings – Travis Knight. Arianne Sutner.
Moana – John Musker. Ron Clements. Osnat Shurer.
My Life as a Zucchini – Claude Barras. Max Karli.
The Red Turtle – Michaël Dudok de Wit. Toshio Suzuki.
* Zootopia – Byron Howard. Rich Moore. Clark Spencer.

Best Documentary Feature
Fire at Sea – Gianfranco Rosi. Donatella Palermo.
I Am Not Your Negro – Raoul Peck. Rémi Grellety. Hébert Peck.
Life, Animated – Roger Ross Williams. Julie Goldman.
* O.J.: Made in America – Ezra Edelman. Caroline Waterlow.
13th – Ava DuVernay. Spencer Averick. Howard Barish.

Best Cinematography
Arrival – Bradford Young.
* La La Land – Linus Sandgren.
Lion – Greig Fraser.
Moonlight – James Laxton.
Silence – Rodrigo Prieto.

Ramon Novarro biography Beyond Paradise

Best Film Editing
Arrival – Joe Walker.
* Hacksaw RidgeJohn Gilbert.
Hell or High Water – Jake Roberts.
La La Land – Tom Cross.
Moonlight – Nat Sanders. Joi McMillon.

Best Original Score
Jackie – Mica Levi.
* La La Land – Justin Hurwitz.
Lion – Dustin O’Halloran. Hauschka.
Moonlight – Nicholas Britell.
Passengers – Thomas Newman.

Best Production Design
Arrival – Patrice Vermette. Paul Hotte.
Fantastic Beasts, Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig. Anna Pinnock.
Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor. Nancy Haigh.
* La La Land – David Wasco. Sandy Reynolds-Wasco.
Passengers – Guy Hendrix Dyas. Gene Serdena.

Best Costume Design
Allied – Joanna Johnston.
* Fantastic Beasts, Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood.
Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle.
Jackie – Madeline Fontaine.
La La Land – Mary Zophres.

Best Visual Effects
Deepwater Horizon – Craig Hammack. Jason Snell. Jason Billington. Burt Dalton.
Doctor Strange – Stephane Ceretti. Richard Bluff. Vincent Cirelli. Paul Corbould.
* The Jungle Book – Robert Legato. Adam Valdez. Andrew R. Jones. Dan Lemmon.
Kubo the Two Strings – Steve Emerson. Oliver Jones. Brian McLean. Brad Schiff.
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – John Knoll. Mohen Leo. Hal Hickel. Neil Corbould.

Best Original Song
“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz. Lyric by Benj Pasek. Justin Paul.
“Can’t Stop the Feeling!” from Trolls – Music. Lyric by Justin Timberlake. Max Martin. Karl Johan Schuster (Shellback).
* “City of Stars” from La La Land – Music by Justin Hurwitz. Lyric by Benj Pasek. Justin Paul.
“The Empty Chair” from Jim: The James Foley Story – Music. Lyric by J. Ralph. Sting.
“How Far I’ll Go” from Moana – Music. Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Best Sound Editing
* Arrival – Sylvain Bellemare.
Deepwater Horizon – Wylie Stateman. Renée Tondelli.
Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Mackenzie. Andy Wright.
La La Land – Ai-Ling Lee. Mildred Iatrou Morgan.
Sully – Alan Robert Murray. Bub Asman.

Best Sound Mixing
Arrival – Bernard Gariépy Strobl. Claude La Haye.
* Hacksaw Ridge – Kevin O’Connell. Andy Wright. Robert Mackenzie. Peter Grace.
La La Land – Andy Nelson. Ai-Ling Lee. Steve A. Morrow.
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – David Parker. Christopher Scarabosio. Stuart Wilson.
13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi – Greg P. Russell [nomination rescinded]. Jeffrey J. Haboush. Mac Ruth. Gary Summers.

Best Makeup & Hairstyling
* Suicide Squad – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini & Christopher Nelson.
A Man Called Ove – Eva von Bahr& Love Larson.
Star Trek Beyond – Joel Harlow& Richard Alonzo.

Best Live Action Short Film
Ennemis intérieurs – Sélim Azzazi.
La Femme et le TGV – Timo von Gunten & Giacun Caduff.
Silent Nights – Aske Bang & Kim Magnusson.
* Sing – Kristóf Deák & Anna Udvardy.
Timecode – Juanjo Giménez.

Best Animated Short Film
Blind Vaysha – Theodore Ushev.
Borrowed Time – Andrew Coats & Lou Hamou-Lhadj.
Pear Cider. Cigarettes – Robert Valley & Cara Speller.
Pearl – Patrick Osborne.
* Piper – Alan Barillaro & Marc Sondheimer.

Best Documentary – Short Subject
Extremis – Dan Krauss.
4.1 Miles – Daphne Matziaraki.
Joe’s Violin – Kahane Cooperman & Raphaela Neihausen.
Watani: My Homeland – Marcel Mettelsiefen & Stephen Ellis.
* The White Helmets – Orlando von Einsiedel & Joanna Natasegara.

Recommended for You

Leave a Comment

*IMPORTANT*: By using this form you agree with Alt Film Guide's storage and handling of your data (e.g., your IP address). Make sure your comment adds something relevant to the discussion: Feel free to disagree with us and write your own movie commentaries, but *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative. Abusive, inflammatory, spammy/self-promotional, baseless (spreading mis- or disinformation), and just plain deranged comments will be zapped. Lastly, links found in submitted comments will generally be deleted.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. If you continue browsing, that means you've accepted our Terms of Use/use of cookies. You may also click on the Accept button on the right to make this notice disappear. Accept Read More