'The Time Machine': Student Academy Awards Finalists

The Time Machine Student Academy Awards'The Time Machine,' 'The Dust Machine' among Student Academy Awards 2011 finalists (image: Mark Kendall's 'The Time Machine')

Finalists in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 2011 Student Academy Awards competition have been announced. They are divided into four categories: Alternative, Animation, Documentary and Narrative. The finalists are the following (listed alphabetically by film title):

Bitter, Vlad Korishev, the Art Institute of California, San Francisco
The Dust Machine, Damon Mohl, University of Colorado, Boulder
Unreal City, Bryan Bykowicz, University of Michigan-Dearborn
The Vermeers, Tal S. Shamir, The New School, New York

The Birds Upstairs, Christopher Jarvis, New York University
Correspondence, Zach Hyer, Pratt Institute, New York
Defective Detective, Avner Geller and Stevie Lewis, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
Dragonboy, Bernardo Warman, Academy of Art University, California
The Girl and the Fox, Tyler Kupferer, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
Heart, Erick Oh, University of California, Los Angeles
The Renter, Jason Carpenter, California Institute of the Arts
Swing, Yen-Ting Kuo, School of Visual Arts, New York
Treasure, Chelsea Bartlett, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida

After, Jeremy Cohen, The New School, New York
Civil Indigent, Nicholas Corrao and David Hafter, University of Florida 
Feast & Sacrifice, Clare Major, University of California, Berkeley 
Imaginary Circumstances, Anthony Weeks, Stanford University 
Shape of the Shapeless, Jayan Cherian, City College of New York 
Sin Pais (Without Country), Theo Rigby, Stanford University, California
This is Us: Video Stories from Senegalese Youth, Jeremy Teicher, Dartmouth College
The Time Machine, Mark Kendall, School of Visual Arts, New York
Vera Klement: Blunt Edge, Wonjung Bae, Columbia College Chicago

The Candidate, David Karlak, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
Fatakra, Soham Mehta, University of Texas at Austin
Flagpole, Matt Kazman, New York University
High Maintenance, Shawn Wines, Columbia University
Le Jeu des Soldats, Lorne Hiltser, American Film Institute, California
My First Claire, Lou Howe, American Film Institute, California
Snovi, Reshad Kulenovic, Boston University 
Thief, Julian Higgins, American Film Institute, California 
The Wind Is Blowing on My Street, Saba Riazi, New York University

Student Academy Awards 2011: Awards ceremony in June

(Some) Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences members will now watch the films at special screenings and vote for the winners. The potential prizes consist of Gold, Silver, and Bronze medals, in addition to cash grants of $5,000, $3,000, and $2,000, respectively.

Additionally, the winning filmmakers will be brought to Los Angeles to take part in industry-related activities and attend the Student Academy Awards ceremony on Saturday, June 11, 2011, at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Also of note, for the first time up to three films may be honored in the Foreign Student Film category. The finalists are students from the Czech Republic, Germany, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

Student Academy Award winners and the Oscars

Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 43 Oscar nominations, and have won or shared eight awards.

At the 2011 Academy Awards ceremony, 2010 Student Academy Award winner Luke Matheny took home the Oscar for Best Live Action Short Film for God of Love. Tanel Toom, another 2010 Student Academy Award winner, was nominated in the same category for The Confession, while 1979 and 1980 Student Academy Award winner John Lasseter was a nominee in the Best Adapted Screenplay category for the Disney / Pixar blockbuster Toy Story 3.

The 2011 Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 11 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required. Tickets may be obtained online at www.oscars.org, in person at the Academy box office, or by mail. The Samuel Goldwyn Theater is located at 8949 Wilshire Boulevard in Beverly Hills.

The Time Machine photo: Mark Kendall.

'The Time Machine': Student Academy Awards Finalists © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about ''The Time Machine': Student Academy Awards Finalists'


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.