Student Academy Awards: Caleb Deschanel, Jason Reitman Among Presenters


'Simulacra,' 'On the Line' among Student Academy Award winners

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences' 35th Annual Student Academy Awards ceremony was held earlier this evening, June 7, '08, at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills. (See further below images from the Student Academy Awards ceremony.)

The winners were:

Honorary Foreign Film

On the Line (Auf der Strecke), Reto Caffi. Academy of Media Arts, Cologne, Germany.


  • Gold Medal: Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant, Shih-Ting Hung. University of Southern California.
  • Silver Medal: Circles of Confusion, Phoebe Tooke. San Francisco State University.

*Only two medals were awarded in the Alternative category.


  • Gold Medal: Zoologic, Nicole Mitchell. California Institute of the Arts.
  • Silver Medal: Simulacra, Tatchapon Lertwirojkul. The School of Visual Arts, New York.
  • Bronze Medal: The Visionary, Evan Mayfield. Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida.


  • Gold Medal: As We Forgive, Laura Waters Hinson. American University, Washington, D.C.
  • Silver Medal: Unattached, J.J. Adler. Columbia University.
  • Bronze Medal: If a Body Meet a Body, Brian Davis. University of Southern California.


  • Gold Medal: A Day's Work, Rajeev Dassani. University of Southern California.
  • Silver Medal: The State of Sunshine, Z. Eric Yang. Florida State University.
  • Bronze Medal: Pitstop, Melanie McGraw. University of Southern California.

Cash prizes

In addition to the trophies, Gold Medal recipients received $5,000, Silver Medal recipients $3,000, Bronze Medal recipients $2,000, and the Honorary Foreign Film winner – a curiously modest – $1,000.

As per the Academy's press release, “the U.S. students first competed in one of three regional competitions. Each of those regions was permitted to send as many as three finalist films in each of the four award categories. Academy members then screened the films and voted to select the winners.”

On the Line (Auf der Strecke) “was selected from a pool of 43 submissions, representing foreign colleges and universities in 29 countries.”

Student Academy Awards winnersStudent Academy Awards' winners.

2008 Student Academy Awards: Winners group photo

The 2008 Student Academy Awards ceremony featured as presenters Oscar-nominated writer-director Jason Reitman, Oscar-nominated cinematographer Caleb Deschanel, former Student Academy Award winner and Emmy-winning director Todd Holland, and Academy President Sid Ganis.

Featured in the Student Academy Awards winners group photo above are the following (from left to right):

Rajeev Dassani. Phoebe Tooke. Reto Caffi. Melanie McGraw. Evan Mayfield. J.J. Adler. Nicole Mitchell.

Tatchapon Lertwirojkul. Shih-Ting Hung. Z. Eric Yang. Laura Waters Hinson. Brian Davis.

Click on the image to enlarge it.

See also: Student Academy Award winners announced.

2008 Student Academy Awards group photo: Matt Petit / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Caleb Deschanel, Brian DavisCaleb Deschanel, Brian Davis (If a Body Meet a Body)

Caleb Deschanel

Veteran Caleb Deschanel's feature film credits as a cinematographer – about 20 overall, since the mid-1970s – include:

Deschanel has been nominated for five Academy Awards:

  • The Right Stuff (1983).
  • The Natural (1984).
  • Fly Away Home (1996).
  • The Patriot (2000).
  • The Passion of the Christ (2004).

Brian Davis and Caleb Deschanel photo: Greg Harbaugh / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Jason Reitman, Melanie McGrawJason Reitman and Student Academy Award winner Melanie McGraw ('Pitstop').

Jason Reitman

The son of director Ivan Reitman (Ghostbusters, Dave), Jason Reitman's movie credits include the following:

Melanie McGraw and Jason Reitman photo: Greg Harbaugh / ©A.M.P.A.S.

Todd Holland, Shih-Ting HungTodd Holland and Student Academy Award winner Shih-Ting Hung ('Viola: The Traveling Rooms of a Little Giant').

Todd Holland

Todd Holland has been mostly a television producer-director. His TV credits include The Larry Sanders Show, Malcolm in the Middle, Ball & Chain, Fugly, and the 2006 version of The Time Tunnel, toplining David Conrad and Dion Luther.

Among Holland's rare film credits is the 2007 comedy Firehouse Dog, featuring Josh Hutcherson, Bruce Greenwood, Bill Nunn, and the director's spouse, Scotch Ellis Loring.

While a UCLA student, in 1986 Todd Holland received the “Merit” accolade in the Student Academy Awards' Dramatic category for the short Chicken Thing.

Shih-Ting Hung and Todd Holland photo: Greg Harbaugh / ©A.M.P.A.S.


Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (A.M.P.A.S.) website.

Student Academy Awards: Caleb Deschanel, Jason Reitman Among Presenters © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Student Academy Awards: Caleb Deschanel, Jason Reitman Among Presenters'

NOTE: *Thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative. Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped. Links found in comments will generally be deleted.