Sundance Winners: 'Winter's Bone,' 'Animal Kingdom'

Kate Mara, Josh Radnor in Happythankyoumoreplease
Kate Mara, Josh Radnor in Happythankyoumoreplease (bottom)

Debra Granik's Winter's Bone, Sebastian Junger and Tim Hetherington's Restrepo, David Michod's Animal Kingdom, and Mads Bruegger's The Red Chapel were the four top jury prize winners at the 2010 Sundance Film Festival.

Starring Jennifer Lawrence, Winter's Bone chronicles a teenage girl's difficult passage to full-fledged adulthood in the rural Ozarks, while the documentary Restrepo follows a group of American soldiers in war torn Afghanistan. In the Australian drama Animal Kingdom, starring Guy Pearce, Ben Mendelsohn, Luke Ford, and Joel Edgerton, a Melbourne crime family reaches a crisis point, while in the documentary The Red Chapel Danish filmmaker Brueggers takes a quirky look inside mysterious North Korea.

Audience awards for American productions went to actor-writer-director Josh Radnor's New York-set comedy Happythankyoumoreplease and to Davis Guggenheim's documentary Waiting for Superman, which gives an “F” to the American public schools system. The foreign winners were Peruvian writer-director Javier Fuentes-Leon's sexually charged ghost story Contracorriente / Undertow and British filmmaker Lucy Walker's Waste Land, which offers a portrait of Brazilian artist Vik Muniz's photographic project featuring recycled-garbage pickers in the outskirts of Rio de Janeiro.

The best US directors were Eric Mendelsohn for the slice-of-life narrative feature 3 Backyards and Leon Gast for the documentary Smash His Camera, about yesteryear paparazzo Ron Galella. World Cinema best director winners were Bolivian Juan Carlos Valdivia for Southern District, about a privileged family trying to cope with the changing times, and Swiss Christian Frei for Space Tourists, a documentary about wealthy people who pay loads of money to become a sort of space cadets.

The Waldo Salt awards for screenwriting went to Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini for Winter's Bone and to Juan Carlos Valdivia for Southern District.

Sympathy for Delicious

Sundance 2010 special jury prizes went to the following: Sympathy for Delicious, directed by Mark Ruffalo and written by Christopher Thornton, who starred as a recently paralyzed DJ hooked on faith healing (Orlando Bloom plays a rocker in this one); Josh Fox's documentary GasLand, about the effects of natural gas on air and water; and Rob Lemkin and Thet Sambath's Enemies of the People, a chronicle of Cambodia's troubled modern history.

Additionally, Tatiana Maslany won a special jury prize for breakout performance for her precocious teenager in Adriana Maggs' Grown Up Movie Star.

The cinematography awards went to Zak Mulligan for Diane Bell's Obselidia; Kirsten Johnson and Laura Poitras for Poitras' documentary The Oath; Mariano Cohn and Gaston Duprat for their Argentinean drama about warring neighbors, The Man Next Door; and Kate McCullough and Michael Lavelle for Ken Wardrop's Irish documentary His and Hers.

Editing awards went to Penelope Falk for Ricki Stern and Annie Sundberg's US documentary Joan Rivers: A Piece of Work and Joelle Alexis for Yael Hersonski's German/Israeli documentary A Film Unfinished.

The Best of Next award (for films made for less than $50,000) went to Todd and Brad Barnes' screwball comedy Homewrecker, the story of a romantic ex-con locksmith written by the brothers Barnes and Sophie Goodhart. The eight filmmakers taking part in this category voted for the winning film.

Other winners were Diane Bell's Obselidia, which took the Alfred P. Sloan prize for a feature film with a scientific or technology theme; and Jeremy Konner's Drunk History: Douglass and Lincoln and Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland's The Six Dollar Fifty Man in the short films categories.

U.S. Documentary Competition Jury: filmmakers Greg Barker, Dayna Goldfine, Morgan Spurlock and Ondi Timoner, and Wired senior editor Nancy Miller

U.S. Dramatic Competition Jury: novelist Russell Banks, producer Jason Kliot, director Karyn Kusama, actress Parker Posey, cinematographer Robert Yeoman

World Cinema Documentary Competition Jury: documentarian Jennifer Baichwal, PBS correspondent Jeffrey Brown, Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival director Asako Fujioka

World Cinema Dramatic Competition Jury: writer/director Alison Maclean, Entertainment Weekly critic Lisa Schwarzbaum, producer Sigurjon Sighvatsson

Shorts Competition Jury: filmmaker Sterlin Harjo, Wholphin DVD editor and cofounder Brent Hoff, Killer Films chief Christine Vachon

Photos: Courtesy of the Sundance Film Festival

Sundance Winners: 'Winter's Bone,' 'Animal Kingdom' © 2004–2018 Alt Film Guide and/or author(s).
Text NOT to be reproduced without prior written consent.

Leave a comment about 'Sundance Winners: 'Winter's Bone,' 'Animal Kingdom''


Don't waste time and energy disagreeing with and/or being deeply offended by the presentation of factual information.

On the other hand, it's perfectly okay to disagree with and/or, if you're so inclined, to be deeply offended by the views & opinions (and/or likes & dislikes) found on this site. And to let us know about any omissions or, heaven forbid, errors.

Just bear in mind that *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative.

In other words: Feel free to add something reasonable & coherent – AND fact-based – to the discussion.

Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped and offenders may be banned.

And finally, links found in comments will generally be deleted.

Most recent comments listed on top.