Warren Beatty & Martin Scorsese with Career Awards + Animation Oscar Semifinalists

by Anna Robinson
Warren Beatty

Warren Beatty will receive the Art Directors Guild's Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award, “given to an individual whose body of work in the film industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the movie-going experience,” at the ADG Awards ceremony on February 13, 2010, at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Nine other ADG awards will also be presented, along with a Lifetime Achievement Award for production designer Terence Marsh (Mary Queen of Scots, A Touch of Class, Clear and Present Danger, The Green Mile). Additionally, three production designers will be inducted into the ADG's Hall of Fame: Malcolm F. Brown, Bob Keene, and Ferdinando Scarfiotti.

Among the 72-year-old Beatty's behind-the-cameras credits are Bonnie and Clyde (above, with Faye Dunaway), Heaven Can Wait, Reds, and Bulworth. He also starred in the four aforementioned films, in addition to Splendor in the Grass, All Fall Down, McCabe & Mrs. Miller,Dick Tracy, and Bugsy. In-between critical and box office hits, Beatty appeared in misguided vehicles like Mickey One, Kaleidoscope, The Only Game in Town, The Fortune, Ishtar, Love Affair, and Town & Country, his last film.

Among his directors are Arthur Penn, Elia Kazan, John Frankenheimer, Barry Levinson, and Robert Altman. His leading ladies include Natalie Wood, Eva Marie Saint, Leslie Caron, Susannah York, Jean Seberg, Elizabeth Taylor, Julie Christie, Goldie Hawn, Diane Keaton, Isabelle Adjani, Madonna, Halle Berry, and Annette Bening, who became his wife in 1992. Additionally, Beatty has played opposite Jack Nicholson, Elliott Gould, Charles Grodin, Gene Hackman, and Dustin Hoffman.

Warren Beatty's previous honorary awards include the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and the Board of Governors Award from the American Society of Cinematographers in 2000, the Distinguished Director Award from the Costume Designers Guild in 2001, the Milestone Award from the Producers Guild in 2004, the Cecil B. DeMille Award from the Hollywood Foreign Press Association in 2007, and the American Film Institute Lifetime Achievement Award in 2008.

Beatty's non-movie-related honors include the Eleanor Roosevelt Award from the Americans for Democratic Action, the Brennan Legacy Award from the Brennan Center for Justice at the New York University School of Law, and the Phillip Burton Public Service Award from The Foundation For Taxpayer and Consumer Rights. Also, along with Annette Bening, he was given the Caritas Award from Saint John's Health Center and the Stem Cell Champions Award from the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.

Previous recipients of the ADG's Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery Award are Allen Daviau, Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards, Terry Gilliam, Ray Harryhausen, Norman Jewison, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Frank Oz, Steven Spielberg, Robert Wise, and Zhang Yimou.

The Art Directors Guild nominations will be announced on January 8. The winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on February 13.

For more information, visit www.artdirectors.org.

Golden Globes 2010: Martin Scorsese to Receive Cecil B. DeMille Award

Martin Scorsese will be the next recipient of the Cecil B. DeMille Award. Scorsese will be handed out his Cecil B. at the 2010 Golden Globes ceremony on January 17 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. Hosted by Ricky Gervais, the show will be broadcast live coast to coast Sunday, January 17 on NBC (5 to 8 pm PT, 8 to 11 pm ET).

The Cecil B. DeMille Award, voted by the Board of Directors of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, was announced by Vera Farmiga.

Scorsese has already taken home two Golden Globe Awards for Best Director of a Motion Picture: for Gangs of New York (2002) and The Departed (2006). He has also received six additional Golden Globe nominations: five as Best Director (The Aviator, Casino, The Age of Innocence, Goodfellas, and Raging Bull) and one for Best Screenplay (Goodfellas, with Nicolas Pileggi).

Among Scorsese's others awards and honors are the best director Academy Award for The Departed, the Career Golden Lion from the Venice Film Festival (1995), the AFI Life Achievement Award (1997), and the DGA Lifetime Achievement Award (2003).

Previous Cecil B. DeMille Award winners include Steven Spielberg, Warren Beatty, Anthony Hopkins, Audrey Hepburn, Doris Day, Paul Newman, Gregory Peck, Joan Crawford, and Cecil B. DeMille himself back in 1952.

Scorsese is currently in post production on Shutter Island, due for release in the spring of 2010.

Nominations for 2010 Golden Globe Awards will be announced at 5:00 a.m. on Tuesday, December 15.

Up by Pete Docter
A Town Called Panic
Fantastic Mr. Fox by Wes Anderson
Up by Pete Docter (top); A Town Called Panic by Stéphane Aubier and Vincent Patar (middle); Fantastic Mr. Fox by Wes Anderson (bottom)

Oscar 2010: Animated Feature Semi-Finalists

Twenty features have been submitted for consideration in the Animated Feature Film category for the 2010 Academy Awards. They are:

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel
Astro Boy
Battle for Terra
Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs
Disney's A Christmas Carol
The Dolphin - Story of a Dreamer
Fantastic Mr. Fox
Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
Mary and Max
The Missing Lynx
Monsters vs. Aliens
Planet 51
The Princess and the Frog
The Secret of Kells
Tinker Bell and the Lost Treasure
A Town Called Panic

Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Squeakquel, The Dolphin - Story of a Dreamer, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Planet 51, The Princess and the Frog, The Secret of Kells (which is also up for an European Film Award) and A Town Called Panic have not yet had their required Los Angeles qualifying run. As per the Academy's press release, “submitted features must fulfill the theatrical release requirements and meet all of the category's other qualifying rules before they can advance in the voting process.”

Under the rules for this category, a maximum of five features can be nominated in a year in which there are at least 16 eligible entries. Since the Animated Feature Film category was instituted in 2001, only once – in 2002 – were there five nominated films. The other years had three films in the running.

Films submitted in the Animated Feature Film category also may qualify for Academy Awards in other categories, including Best Picture, provided they meet the requirements for those categories.

The 2010 Academy Award nominations will be announced on Tuesday, February 2, 2010, at 5:30 a.m. PT in the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

The 2010 Academy Awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, March 7, 2010, at the Kodak Theatre at Hollywood & Highland Center. In the US, it'll be televised live by ABC.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

IMPORTANT: By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by Alt Film Guide. Also, *thoughtfulness* and *at least a modicum of sanity* are imperative. Abusive/bigoted, trollish/inflammatory, baseless (spreading misinformation, whether intentionally or not), spammy, and/or just plain deranged comments will be zapped. And finally, links found in submitted comments will generally be deleted.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. If you continue browsing, that means you've accepted our Terms of Use/use of cookies. You may also click on the Accept button on the right to make this notice disappear. Accept Read More